Contacts, Calander, Documents SYNC

cellphonedork

Reaction score
Make Droid WORK for you... Calander Sync, Contacts Sync, Documents Sync

Hey all,

Never written any tutorial here before, but I see this one needing to be done. As a small business owner, I NEED things that work and wok well. I love my phone, but its missing some functionality. Lets try to fix that. If its a link, click for more info. If you can add on, please do. I'll try to help anywhere I can.

Calander sync with Outlook

Contacts sync with Outlook - Soocial : this client just works.

I have tried all the outlook Gmail contacts sync clients. oggsync, octopuscity, gcontactssynch, gsyncit are horrible.
ComapnionLink (one time fee) and GoogleSyncforDomains and Plaxo do work, but cost $$$ per year.

Documets Sync: I have not figure this all the way out:
GDocs: Nice App. Ok if you use google docs.

Dropbox.com: Works great as file share between computers (cross platform) I use it all the time, I even keep my quickbooks file in there. They are working on hiring an Android Developer to create a client for us. I keep all work related docs in my C: /My Documets / My Dropbox folder when they are active. This folder is the synced to my Home Desktop, My Laptop, My Office Desktop and my Wife's MacBookPro. I use syncbackSE (freeware: syncback) to sync My Dropbox folder to a thumbdrive and my Droid. I set it up to run a smart sync profile when my droid is mounted, but only if syncback is running, and only if time since last sync has been longer than 6 hours. I have also created profiles that allow sync over FTP and USB. I keep a Portable Apps collection in the dropbox as well. This is working, but it is not flawless and has to be tweaked to get it to work great. I have mine dialed now. I did pay for syncbackSE, but it was worth the $$ as I use it for backups all the time.

Droidbox is on the market. Not an "official app" , but does pretty good.