Check for Updates

silver6054

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
537
Reaction score
1
Hi, recently every time I try checking for a system update (from About Phone menu) I get "Check for update was not available at this time. Try again later."

I used to get a message that the system was up to date. Are others getting this error, I don't think I have made changes since it worked.

Running stock, rooted with frozen bloatware, but even when I unfreeze everything, I still get that message.

Thanks
 

hookbill

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
19,374
Reaction score
8
Location
N.E. Ohio
Did you try resetting the phone? How long has this been going on? If it's just today reboot and give it a day.
 

spaz33g

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Joined
Sep 4, 2010
Messages
6,368
Reaction score
0
Location
orange county, ca
I got this message for a while when waiting for the most recent d2 update but it ironed itself out after a day like hook said.

tappin and a talkin
 
OP
S

silver6054

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
537
Reaction score
1
I got this message for a while when waiting for the most recent d2 update but it ironed itself out after a day like hook said.

tappin and a talkin
It's been a few days, I did a reboot, and battery pull. If it is working for others, I might try a factory reset, as maybe other things are messed up
 

spaz33g

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Joined
Sep 4, 2010
Messages
6,368
Reaction score
0
Location
orange county, ca
Well it could be global specific and may have to do with some other factors so you might want to wait for someone else to chime in.

tappin and a talkin
 
OP
S

silver6054

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
537
Reaction score
1
Well it could be global specific and may have to do with some other factors so you might want to wait for someone else to chime in.

tappin and a talkin

Swirched to wifi, and it seemed to hang. Rebooted, and now I get the expected "Device up to date" message! So... one of those things. And I had tried wifi yesterday.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
748
Reaction score
0
Generally, I get the "check for updates not available" message when I have the bloatware frozen, but as soon as I defrost it, I either get the update, or the 'system is up to date" message.
 

rage813

Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2010
Messages
97
Reaction score
0
If you put sync social apps over wifi only then take that off thats why it does it then reboot your phone

Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
 
Top