Backup Not Working

SpaceCowboy74

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2010
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
I just downloaded the ROM Manager tool, installed the ClockworkMod Recovery and tried to do a "Backup Current ROM". My incredible will reboot, show a green "circular arrow" for a half second, then a red question mark over a mini incredible icon. If i power off with the power button and power back on, i reload back to my factory ROM. Do i need to get an alternate recovery and flash back and forth to get it to work or is there something else i am missing?
 

YankInDaSouth

Theme Developer
Theme Developer
Joined
Jul 8, 2010
Messages
3,186
Reaction score
369
Location
Sharpsburg, GA
Website
www.wix.com
I just downloaded the ROM Manager tool, installed the ClockworkMod Recovery and tried to do a "Backup Current ROM". My incredible will reboot, show a green "circular arrow" for a half second, then a red question mark over a mini incredible icon. If i power off with the power button and power back on, i reload back to my factory ROM. Do i need to get an alternate recovery and flash back and forth to get it to work or is there something else i am missing?

You are rooted correct? Saw something similar in another thread and it turned out they lost root somehow ...
 
OP
S

SpaceCowboy74

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2010
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
You are rooted correct? Saw something similar in another thread and it turned out they lost root somehow ...

I am rooted. Admittedly, I did it before UnrEVOked came out for the incredible, but when I ran ROM Manager, it asked if I wanted to grant root permissions and I granted them.
 
OP
S

SpaceCowboy74

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2010
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Not saying that you're not right, just be sure your Superuser ninja icon is still there ...

It's there. When i run it, it has Wireless Tether, ConnectBot, IncrediLight and ROM Manager listed as green lit apps for it.
 

YankInDaSouth

Theme Developer
Theme Developer
Joined
Jul 8, 2010
Messages
3,186
Reaction score
369
Location
Sharpsburg, GA
Website
www.wix.com
OK - in RM scroll down to "Flash Alternate Recovery" and select it. After it's done select "Flash ClockworkMod Recovery" and then try doing a backup again ...
 
OP
S

SpaceCowboy74

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2010
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
OK - in RM scroll down to "Flash Alternate Recovery" and select it. After it's done select "Flash ClockworkMod Recovery" and then try doing a backup again ...


I don't have an alternate recovery option (yet). Don't have a usb cable to connect to the phone at work. Will have to download an alternative recovery tool when i get home.
 

YankInDaSouth

Theme Developer
Theme Developer
Joined
Jul 8, 2010
Messages
3,186
Reaction score
369
Location
Sharpsburg, GA
Website
www.wix.com
OK - Have you tried flashing an older version of clockwork? Go in RM and select "All ClockworkMod Recoveries" - usually 2.0.1.3 works for me, but I am on a D1 ...
 
OP
S

SpaceCowboy74

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2010
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
OK - Have you tried flashing an older version of clockwork? Go in RM and select "All ClockworkMod Recoveries" - usually 2.0.1.3 works for me, but I am on a D1 ...


That didn't work. I wonder, it's possible I formatted as NTFS or something else when i formatted the card (it's 8GB). Is there a way to tell the format type within android, or do i need to connect via adb and use parted on the system?
 
OP
S

SpaceCowboy74

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2010
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
That didn't work. I wonder, it's possible I formatted as NTFS or something else when i formatted the card (it's 8GB). Is there a way to tell the format type within android, or do i need to connect via adb and use parted on the system?

I did have the system formatted FAT32. I just applied the unrEVOked3 system to my phone this morning. That seemed to put a version of ClockworkMod that worked for me. I was able to partition the sdcard for speed and did a backup of my system.

Thanks!
 
Top