Apply Minimum Brightness Patch without losing theme

djakrse

Reaction score
I'm posting this tutorial to explain how I applied xeudoxus's brightness patch and retained the SD theme. I want to attempt to contribute at least this much in asking for it on the ROM. There's probably a better way, but this worked for me. If anyone can improve the procedure, don't hesitate to add comments or questions. No tutorial is completely self-encompassing and I still have questions about the process myself.

Sorry for the length. I like to include words so other people can interpret properly if they must. This was not posted with my Android phone!

Disclaimer: I am not a professional. This is what worked for me. Make a nandroid backup before replacing your framework-res.apk and you should be fine. Either way, nobody takes responsibility for what happens but you.

Prerequisites:
Android SDK - Android SDK | Android Developers
xUltimate Auto Brightness Patcher - http://www.droidforums.net/forum/xeudoxus/47283-release-xultimate.html; http://www.xeudoxus.com/android/xUltimate-ABP.zip
7-Zip for Windows (for viewing and modifying our framework-res.apk)
7-Zip Command Line Version - Download
Theme-Porter - Theme-Porter [v1.0] [Any Firmware / Rom Compatible] [WINDOWS] - xda-developers
Basic command-line experience

1) Transfer framework-res.apk Droid > PC
First, enable USB Debugging on your phone. Open a command prompt in Windows and go to <SDK install path>\tools (SDK\tools). I specified the destination as the location of the brightness patcher for the following step:

cd c:\droid\android-sdk-windows\tools
adb pull /system/framework/framework-res.apk c:\droid\

Note: Keep track of your framework-res.apk files. I renamed the original "framework-res.apk.orig" and renamed copies as they were modified.

2) xUltimate Auto Brightness Patcher