Yup I Botched It Forgot to Unroot Before OTA - What Now?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by chetqwerty, Sep 3, 2011.

  1. chetqwerty
    Offline

    chetqwerty New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Like it says. Figure I'm going to be neck deep in command line crap but its the wifes phone so forget about sbf'ing she'll kill me! Forgot her phone was rooted and half way through i thought ooops i know this is not going to be good! Desperately need advice. Thanks
  2. UrbanBounca
    Online

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,272
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Virginia
    What's the problem?

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  3. chetqwerty
    Offline

    chetqwerty New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i dont have root any longer and the new one click is not working. guess the old superuser and su are causing problems?
  4. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Sbf would probably be the easiest way.

    random rom'd X
  5. chetqwerty
    Offline

    chetqwerty New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Like I said, cant sbf she'll kill me if she has to redo everything! I knew I wasn't going to get an easiest way method just want to know how. Thanks
  6. Raman
    Offline

    Raman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Chet I have the exact same problem.... superuser is interfering after i updated with the OTA. SBF is not an option as my wife will kill me for losing alot of data. Im trying to give the command line route a go. I cant get adb shell to start with #, always $. If you find the solution please let us know! Ill be trying too

  7. chetqwerty
    Offline

    chetqwerty New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here you go Ramen this fixed the problem:

    Connect your phone
    [FONT=&amp]- open a command (as administrator) window type adb shell
    - you should see a $ symbol, (if you see a # sign skip next step) now do the following
    - su
    - now you should see a # symbol
    - mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    - rm /system/app/Superuser.apk
    - rm /system/bin/su
    - rm /system/bin/busybox
    - mount -o ro,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system[/FONT]
    - type exit

    That should remove the remnants of the previous root then you can use the new MotoOneClickRoot method.

    Oh and make sure USB Debugging is checked. My USB connection happened to be on PC Mode actually forgot to check it otherwise i would have set it to charge only or usb only, but it worked so there you go!

    Wife is none the wiser and her adds are gone again! Good Luck
  8. Raman
    Offline

    Raman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Awesome! lots of searching and the one thing that worked. Thank you!
Search tags for this page

app that unroots galaxy centura

,

how do i unroot my galaxy centura

,

how to unroot samsung galaxy centura

,

s4 unroot with ota

,

should i unroot before updating

,

unroot before ota update