1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

XOOM may launch with non-working SD card slot

Discussion in 'Motorola Xoom' started by ArrTooDeeToo, Jan 11, 2011.

  1. ArrTooDeeToo
    Offline

    ArrTooDeeToo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    KnowYourMobile is reporting that the XOOM will launch with a non-working SD card slot due to an issue with Honeycomb (not the XOOM hardware itself), but that there will be an update "shortly after" the release to fix the issue, according to Moto product manager Mark Notton.

    This makes me wonder if the product is already finished an being manufactured as we speak, otherwise wouldn't they just be able to fix the issue before it goes to the factories to be made? Or is the tablet just going to launch with an unfinished version of Honeycomb?
  2. armalite
    Offline

    armalite New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, Oh
    How can they launch something that doesn't work?
  3. Dan_08
    Offline

    Dan_08 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it's still got 32gb of internal, but yeah pretty sad not to have the tablet fully working.
  4. Jaxidian
    Offline

    Jaxidian Team FreeMyMoto Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Would you rather wait another month or two to get your hands on the tablet so you can get it when that update is ready? I'm sure that 97% of us would much rather have the tablet sooner without the working SD Slot than wait that extra 1-2 months just for a working SD Card.
  5. ArrTooDeeToo
    Offline

    ArrTooDeeToo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh, I will definitely buy it without a working SD slot. There are plenty of other ways to transfer data, some of which are even more convenient, like the cloud.

    What I'm most worried about is what else is going to be unfinished in Honeycomb at launch?
  6. armalite
    Offline

    armalite New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, Oh
    Well that's the whole thing will it be finished either the slot or os
  7. EgooEspada
    Offline

    EgooEspada New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Sounds like the software doesn't support it and the SD slot was a last minute thing. Originally Google was trying to move away from SD cards and to just internal/flash memory. Guess they changed their mind and added it back. 32GB is enough for now, but I look forward to the software update so I can go shopping for a 32GB SD card - assuming I need it anyway.
  8. reizac926
    Offline

    reizac926 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    usb storage?

    I can't recall if the xoom has a USB port. If so, you would likely be able to run a thumb drive on it, like I have a tiny micro-sd reader that won't stick out much. That would get me by for now.

    Right???
  9. reizac926
    Offline

    reizac926 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes - USB 2.0 PORT

    Yes. I just checked and it does have a USB 2.0 port. I wish it were 3.0, but that's probably too crazy. It's nice that it has that, since I have a 1tb passport drive that is FULL FULL FULL of movies.
  10. tessa25
    Offline

    tessa25 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can you see if your thumbdrive works? I was unsuccessful with that on my Droid X.
  11. reizac926
    Offline

    reizac926 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No usb port!!!

    The specs that I saw show that it has a USB 2.0 port, but the unit that I saw today at Best Buy does NOT have that port. I did see a micro-usb port on the bottom if it, but that is, I believe, to use it AS a storage device.
    What the crap?!?!?
    I just bought an android tablet - the flytouch2 - from a china distributor. It's really pretty cool for the money, and has two full USB ports, and two micro-sd ports, and an HDMI out. I got it for my wife.
    What's the deal with motorola?
  12. TomXP411
    Offline

    TomXP411 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yup. I got my Xoom, and the SD socket had a little plastic slug that says "replace with micro SD card after OS upgrade"

    I triec one of my spare cards, and no joy. It defintely does not work ATM.

    Personally, I like the way the Galaxy Tab handles the external slot. It uses the 16 gigs of internal flash as the SD card, and the external care gets mounted as a subdirectory. Hopefully, MOTO or Google will do something along those lines.
  13. shadowsbane0
    Offline

    shadowsbane0 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Verizon Salesman Take

    When I purchased mine the sales rep speculated that Verizon was holding off enabling the SD until the 64GB Micro-SDHGs were available.

    4G downloading will fill up a card fast.
  14. cplus
    Offline

    cplus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you browsed the file system? It appears to me that the Xoom may handle things this way as well
  15. TomXP411
    Offline

    TomXP411 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And downloading on WiFi (with no usage cap) will fill up the card even faster. :D

    No, I think the issue is trying to let apps access data on the card and on the internal storage. Personally, I like the way the Galaxy Tab does it: the card is mounted as a sub-directory on the internal storage. So the Galaxy's internal storage is really /sdcard, and the actual card is /sdcard/external_sd. There are shortcomings there: the most notable problem is that since most apps don't let you change their storage directory, you can't specify whether a folder goes on the card or on internal storage.

    I'm thinking the best solution is that, combined with symbolic links. If someone wants to move an app's data off to the SD card, create a symbolic link to the folder on the card. That way, apps still think the data is in /sdcard/, even if it's really in /sdcard/external_sd
  16. TomXP411
    Offline

    TomXP411 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have. I currently have a 16GB card installed, but there doesn't seem to be any way to access it. No extra folders show up anywhere when I plug it in, and I am not sure what the device name would be - so even if I had a terminal installed, I wouldn't know how to mount it. If you can give some suggestions there, I'll check it out.
  17. cplus
    Offline

    cplus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    card slot wont work until update. you can browse the file system with a gui - Astro File Manager from the market.
  18. TomXP411
    Offline

    TomXP411 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know how to browse the file system. :icon_eek:

    What I couldn't figure out is how to manually mount a device. In Unix systems, you mount a drive with the mount command, but to run the mount command, you need a terminal window. I haven't installed a terminal on the Xoom yet, and I'm not even sure one would work without rooting... that's something I need to play with.
Search tags for this page
moto xoom ports sd vard
,
motorola sd card launch
,

motorola xoom 2 mz61616 micro sd card slot location

,
motorola xoom sd card reader location
,
sd card space for motorola zoom
,
sd card xoom does not work
,
why can't i mount sd card in xoom 4.1.2
,
why doesn't my xoom see the sd card