Wifi or 3G?

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Eris' started by fking29, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. fking29

    fking29 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    New smartphone user here. Trying to figure out why anyone would activate wifi and deplete their battery when they could use the verizon network? What's the benefit to wifi?
     
  2. Stigy

    Stigy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well not only does WiFi offer faster speeds and not use the data in your coverage, but I use WiFI when I am at my office.

    I am in IT so sometimes I need to perform functions on the network or remote into my computer. Being on Wifi allows me to access basic company resources even when I am in the office, but away from my desk.

    You will notice that Wifi speeds are faster than the Verizon 3G as well so sometimes that is why people use it.
     
  3. fking29

    fking29 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply. So you can connect to network PCs? Do you have any tips for doing this?
     
  4. Stigy

    Stigy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. goathog02

    goathog02 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Using WiFi also used less battery power.
     
  6. fking29

    fking29 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does the phone default to wifi if it's turned on?
     
  7. Stigy

    Stigy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have Wifi turned on via the Locale app.

    I tell it that between 9AM-5PM turn Wifi on.
     
  8. ddietz21

    ddietz21 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    you dont have to pay $15 dollars for an app... you can get "Gmote" for free. It might not do everything the $15 app will, but you can control your computer with Gmote... use your phone as a mouse, open media documents. BALLER
     
  9. fking29

    fking29 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info.
     
  10. Stigy

    Stigy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're talking about something completely different...

    RDP allows you to NOT be in front of your computer and control aspects of it like you were sitting in front of it. RDP does not require a client to be active on the Windows machine you are remoting into.

    If I didn't use it all the time the $15 would seem like a waste, but I sue it A LOT and it makes it worth it.
     
  11. erica_c40

    erica_c40 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know there are apps that are free that work just as well as PC anywhere or the kind.
     
  12. meester

    meester New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    btw; I get 1-2mps on 3g and 7-10mps on FiOS at home.
     
Search tags for this page

wifi vs 3g android