Wifi connection problem

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by tbever, Dec 25, 2011.

  1. tbever
    Offline

    tbever New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Verizon nexus is having problems establishing and maintaining a wifi connection. First 2 days it was fine. Now it will state that it is connected via wifi and gives an IP address but the wifi indicator is grayed out (with 4 or 5 wifi bars ) and it will not receive any data. I have 2 different routers; same issue with both. Security is WPA2 PSK, and the correct password is entered. All other wifi devices on the network work fine. Both are Linksys routers (54G flashed the most current firmware). When I turn wifi off and then on again, the wifi indicator will briefly turn blue when I turn wifi on, but will gray out again within a second or two. Airplane mode on/off does not help. I have powered the phone on/off etc with no help. I have tried forcing the 2.4 mhz vs 5 mhz selection and that does not help. I am not going to flash anything since I don't want to screw up the warranty if I have to return it.


    The 3G and 4G data seems to be fine. I have unlimited data so I don't mind that much but I do want to be able to use wifi.

    There is a thread on XDA-developers forum describing this but I wondered it anyone else here has noticed it here.

    Two Major Issues with teh Galaxy Nexus: Wifi drops and multitouch failing at times - xda-developers
  2. tbever
    Offline

    tbever New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry to reply to my own post, but I found someone with an identical problem on Android forums as well, with no solution. This is exactly the issue I am having. Maybe linksys routers don't play well with Gnex? I have not tried connecting anywhere else yet.

    GNex no wifi at home /w full strength - Android Forums

    (The following is copied from Android Forums:)

    I have a strange problem here: my VZW GNex is unable to access the internet when it's connected to my home wifi, despite having a full (albeit grey) wifi signal indicator. By all indications, things should be fine:The phone gets an IP via DHCP just fine, and the gateway & subnet info are correct (checked /w Network Info 2)

    The specifics (updated after suggestions):
    1. The wireless router sees the mac address in its DHCP table, and no MAC filtering is configured on the router.
    2. Other wireless devices (ipad/iphone/laptops) all work fine.
    3. I have changed encryption mode from WPA/WEP/disabled and all behave the same: the wifi indicator briefly is full and blue, then about 3s later it becomes full and grey. Signal strength is -46 dBm
    4. This GNex has connected fine to 2 other Wifi's - a friend's and my office.
    5. Router is a Linksys WRTGL54, firmware 4.30.7
    6. I've tried changing wifi channels to 1, 6, and 11
    7. For sure, no MAC filtering exists on the router (and it gets an IP from the router, as well)
    8. When I say "full but grey" I mean that - I can walk far away and the top couple grey bars disappear - so it's definitely getting wifi signal, IP, gateway, etc -- but no internet connection.
    9. I've tried "B only," "G only," and "Mixed" on my wifi. None of these work any better than the others (in terms of fixing this problem)
    Regardless of my tweaks, the result is the same: after connecting, the wifi indicator is "full" and blue for ~3s before it becomes "full" but grey -- with no internets.

    What else should I try?
  3. tbever
    Offline

    tbever New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    More information:

    I downloaded wifi analyzer from the market. It shows my 3 access points with good signal strength (one is -59 dBm, the others are -75 and -76). I typically don't use the third one since it is part of a home automation router (micasaverde). This shows the wifi radio in the device is working, but I'll be darned if I can figure out why it is not connecting. It seems likely this is a software issue. One AP is on channel 6, the other two are on channel 11. It shows that I have an IP address under wifi settings with link speed of 36 MPS. I have tried Forget ing the access points and rescanning and adding them back, but not working. Any ideas?
  4. tbever
    Offline

    tbever New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Another update (in case anyone else is having this issue)

    I am still unable to connect to either of my linksys routers. As I mentioned above, I have a micasverde vera home automation controller that also has a built in access point, also secured with WPA2. I tried connecting to that one and SUCCESS! No problems, able to download 1 GB of podcasts without any problems, dropped data or anything. I tried to connect to each of the other two, and no go. There was a brief flash of blue and then grey on the signal indicator, with no data connectivity. I went back to the MCV vera access point and it connected NO PROBLEM.

    I am guessing this may be related to the linksys routers, but this is above my level. I am not sure what chipset the MCV vera runs.

    Anyone else having issues with wifi/linksys routers? All my other devices work fine with them. My OG droid worked fine with them as well.
  5. pchakmak
    Offline

    pchakmak New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jersey
    I am having a problem connecting to wifi as well. It is not showing up when I turn wifi on. On my OG droid there was an option where I could view every wifi connection available without actually being connected. With the gnex I have to be connected to a network to view all the other networks.

    Bottom line...is there a way to view all of the wireless networks and manually connect to one of them?

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  6. CurvingEdge
    Offline

    CurvingEdge New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ive been having the same problems the past few days...any updates?
  7. tbever
    Offline

    tbever New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For whatever reason, the 2 linksys routers were working again normally this morning. They worked fine all morning, then I went away from home, and checked 4G connectivity. 4G was fine (38 Mbs down!) but when I came back home, it seemed that there was a problem connecting again briefly over wifi for about 10-15 mins with 4 bars, connected status but no data connectivity. Now again they are working fine. It seems to be a software glitch, maybe with 4G handoff to wifi?
  8. stratjb
    Offline

    stratjb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just fyi. I've been connected to my Buffalo router everyday since the 15th with no connection issues. I'd say something could be wrong with the phone. I'd exchange it.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  9. SSHGuru
    Offline

    SSHGuru New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    I think it's a software glitch. My dad came over yesterday and couldn't get an IP for an hour from the router. (he has a nexus).

    Hopefully it's on the list of fixes.
  10. PowerJoe
    Offline

    PowerJoe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Problem Solved!!!!

    I could get my phone to connect to some WiFi but not all. I could not get it to connect to my home WiFi no matter what. Spent hours on the phone with Verizon and Samsung, even replaced the phone once. All it would do is say "Saved" but never try to connect or obtain an IP address. The problem was that my network name was two words with a space between the words. The GNex cannot handle having a space in the network name. I changed the name to just one word and now it works perfectly.

    I figured this out because my wife's iphone put a goofy symbol between the two words instead of the space after it was connected, so it hit me and I changed my network name to just one word.

    Hope this helps someone else. I spent a week figuring this out.
  11. tbever
    Offline

    tbever New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I still have similar problems connecting to linksys wrt 54G routers. I have a micasaverde home automation controller with a wifi access point that causes no problems. 2 different workplace wifi setups also work fine. I exchanged the phone for other reasons, but the new one has exactly the same issue. My SSID is one word, so that is not the problem. Annoying but I have one router at home working well.
  12. danmmatthews@gmail.com
    Offline

    danmmatthews@gmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the exact same problem on my 2wire Gateway router. It used to work fine and the last month it has not worked at all. My 3g srvice has been getting much slower also and the resonsiveness overall has been really poor since the GNEX upgrade.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  13. Str8Aro
    Offline

    Str8Aro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Idaho
    I am not having any trouble with my Nexus but did have with my OG on a D-Link. I replaced the D-Link with an Asus RT-N12 and the OG problems were solved. The Nexus connected to it with no problems and I have had flawless service out of it. It is an Open Source router that I flashed with Tomato. I will be upgrading to a newer Asus for gigabit LAN eventually. I don't think the RT-N12 is IPv6 compliant, either.
  14. BitBug
    Offline

    BitBug New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Verizon Galaxy Nexus was working find with my Cisco WRT160Nv3 router/wireless until last night. All day today it was giving me a failed to Authenticate message. All other devices I have are working fine with the wireless.

    After banging my head against the wall for most of the day, I ran across this thread. Based on PowerJoe's post above, I looked hard at the SSID/name of my wifi. It was named AbcdXyz (not a real SSID, but the format is correct. Notice the two capital letters in the SSID name)

    I changed the name to have no caps (i.e. abcdxyz).

    On some other posts, outside this forum, the chanel frequency had also been mentioned. My router channel width was set to: 20MHz. I switched the channel width to a setting of: auto(20MHz or 40MHz)

    The combination of these two changes seems to have fixed the issue. Time will tell if it losses connectivity again and if it does I will post.

    For now, you may wish to try this if you are having issues with WiFi authentication with your Galaxy Nexus.

    I hope this helps someone!
    1 person likes this.
  15. gimpyestrada
    Offline

    gimpyestrada New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    I just wanted to throw my hat into this problem too. I have a Linksys 150N router that has been flashed to run DD-WRT custom firmware.
  16. willsdca
    Offline

    willsdca New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same issue

    Having the same issue with my WRT160N v3. Based on what I've seen here I'm changing mine to 20Hz/40Hz and making the SSID all lower case. I'll report back tonight when I'm home and have a chance to test. This has been irritating since it WAS working fine for weeks.

    And the issue is, using WiFi out and about we won't have the option to change the SSID names. Hopefully the 20/40 fixes it by itself.​

  17. lfireboltjd
    Offline

    lfireboltjd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi there, figured I would try and give some input as well. I ran into this same problem and tried a few things. None of which worked on their own.

    I made the SSID one word with only a leading capital. I changed the frequency to auto. We are running a linksys router as well and it is modified with DD-wrt. Im not sure if this problem is only with these routers or what but I am finally able to access my network in a reasonable fashion.

    It did take a while for the phone to fully connect up it seems though. Not sure what started causing these issues but i hope they fix them. May have to go to a custom rom if they dont.
  18. nleksan
    Offline

    nleksan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    I get sporadic WiFi performance regardless of what I do, and I have tried EVERY SETTING COMBINATION POSSIBLE. It has been fine for a few days, but before that: no wifi for a week. I have the following routers: Asus RT-N63 N900, Linksys E4200(and v2), Linksys WRT310N, 2x Linksys WRT54G (DD-WRT and 8dBi omni-antenna's), 2x Amped Wireless routers (1 is 600mW TX power and the other 1000mW TX Power), and I have also had issues with the routers used at school, work, and at my girlfriend's (I got her a WRT54G and flashed it with DD-WRT). School routers are Cisco and while I can't remember the model I do remember looking it up and they cost over $2k a piece, and at work we have an insane amount of money invested in wireless (due to crazy security, necessary at a BioChem Engineering and Pharma company).

    Believe me, if it's possible, I have tried, and it's like the phone has a mind of its own. Things will go great and I'll see >150Mbps speeds for a week, and then I'll lose my signal and get nothing, anywhere, even after factory reset, for the next week. I'm pulling my hair out!
  19. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,885
    Likes Received:
    624
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    nleksan I would try to get a new nexus if I were you. Yours seems wackier than even ones that have gone in for an exchange.
  20. nleksan
    Offline

    nleksan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH

    Oh, I have tried...and tried...and tried... Even with a "Lvl2 Tech Support" gentleman having written in my "file" that: "Customer is to receive a BRAND NEW IN BOX (NOT REFURBISHED!!!) Samsung Galaxy Nexus, per Corporate, and is to continue to receive BRAND NEW units until he receives one that is 100% functional - this exchange can be carried out at ANY Verizon Wireless Corporate Store by any Verizon Sales Associate or Manager. All replaced units will have an indefinite warranty period so as to eliminate the possibility of a second/third/etc non-functioning device".

    The extremely awesome tech support guy wrote that in my "file" after the THIRD TIME I WAS DENIED A NEW PHONE WHILE UNDER WARRANTY! I was offered a BNIB RAZR or Rezound but was told "Under absolutely NO CIRCUMSTANCES are you EVER going to get a replacement Nexus... That's just how it is, I'm not changing the rules for you, so either deal with the unit you have now or TRADE UP to a device that actually works..." - I am not exaggerating. It was after that experience that the Tech Support gentleman told me he had authority over any salesperson or in-store manager when it came to device refunds/exchanges, and that now that he has it in my billing file, it will not be ignored.

    IT HAS BEEN IGNORED.

    (all of that happened within the 30-day holiday warranty I was given when buying the phone on Dec15/2011)
Search tags for this page
amped wireless authentication problem
,
galaxy nexus no wifi
,
galaxy nexus problems connecting to wifi
,

galaxy nexus wifi authentication problem

,

galaxy nexus wifi issue

,

galaxy nexus wifi not working

,

galaxy nexus wifi problem

,
galaxy nexus wifi stopped working
,
linksys android problems
,
linksys authentication problem
,
linksys cisco android connection problem
,
samsung nexus wifi problems