Wifi AND 3g??

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by GBAUMS, Sep 29, 2011.

  1. GBAUMS
    Offline

    GBAUMS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought when your phone connected to wifi the 3g would cut out. My phone shows it using both??? Won't that just destroy the battery? How can I address this?
     
  2. Rodimus4180
    Offline

    Rodimus4180 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Prescott, AZ
    Ratings:
    +6
    I can't say why the 3g icon is still there but since its all white it means its not being used. I think its just holding on to the signal for a better transition when the wi-fi signal is gone.

    From the dual cores of my XT875
     
  3. GBAUMS
    Offline

    GBAUMS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine is staying blue though. The arrows are white but the 3g itself is blue.
     
  4. don_droid
    Offline

    don_droid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0
    The 3G is for your phone calls, it will need to stay active to allow you to make and receive calls.
     
  5. Alk195
    Offline

    Alk195 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, 3G is not used for phone calls, Verizon's CDMA network does not even allow for 3G to be on when making or receiving phone calls, when a call comes in/dials out, 3G is turned off.
     
  6. GBAUMS
    Offline

    GBAUMS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right the way I understand it is 3g is data only
     
  7. Rodimus4180
    Offline

    Rodimus4180 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Prescott, AZ
    Ratings:
    +6
    That's odd, maybe there's an app not letting the 3g idle?

    From the dual cores of my XT875