1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Wifi AND 3g??

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by GBAUMS, Sep 29, 2011.

  1. GBAUMS
    Offline

    GBAUMS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I thought when your phone connected to wifi the 3g would cut out. My phone shows it using both??? Won't that just destroy the battery? How can I address this?
  2. Rodimus4180
    Online

    Rodimus4180 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Prescott, AZ
    I can't say why the 3g icon is still there but since its all white it means its not being used. I think its just holding on to the signal for a better transition when the wi-fi signal is gone.

    From the dual cores of my XT875
  3. GBAUMS
    Offline

    GBAUMS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine is staying blue though. The arrows are white but the 3g itself is blue.
  4. don_droid
    Offline

    don_droid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    The 3G is for your phone calls, it will need to stay active to allow you to make and receive calls.
  5. Alk195
    Offline

    Alk195 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually, 3G is not used for phone calls, Verizon's CDMA network does not even allow for 3G to be on when making or receiving phone calls, when a call comes in/dials out, 3G is turned off.
  6. GBAUMS
    Offline

    GBAUMS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Right the way I understand it is 3g is data only
  7. Rodimus4180
    Online

    Rodimus4180 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Prescott, AZ
    That's odd, maybe there's an app not letting the 3g idle?

    From the dual cores of my XT875