1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Why do Moto/HTC FORCE use of their addons?

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Eris' started by brochaos, Jan 7, 2010.

  1. brochaos
    Offline

    brochaos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    why don't they let people have the option of running "pure google experience" instead of motoblur or sense? no additional changes would be needed, right?
  2. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    they dont... you have the option to buy a Moto Droid that is a Google Experience phone, and HTC has the Nexus 1 that is a google experience phone. No one forces you to do anything ;)
  3. brochaos
    Offline

    brochaos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    true, you do have that option, but lets say you loved the form factor of the eris or the cliq, but didn't want their addon crap. i dunno, just seems weird that for an OS that is so customizable that you are still forced to do things a certain way with certain handsets.

    i still think android as a whole would be better off if those addons were done through the market. that way, all phones could run the same version, at the same time, and then integrate the updates as they become available.

    it doesn't make any sense to have old phones running 1.6, some new phones running 1.5, one phone running 2.0, and another 2.1. thats just too many!!

    although after listening to a sanjay interview, this sounds more like a google influence than anything else. he basically said that google pushes them for a "pure" experience on their flagship phone.
  4. izu516
    Offline

    izu516 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If every company sold Google Experience phones only, there might be almost no distinction between them other than form factor. As for the Market idea... if HTC, for example, gave Sense free on the Market. You could still pay for a Motorola phone and then download it. But it is frustrating (especially to developers) to see how Android versions are all over the place. When it comes to Android being free, the difference here compared to Apple's iPhone, for example, is that Google doesn't hate CyanogenMod the same way Apple hates The iPhoneDevs.
  5. brochaos
    Offline

    brochaos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    do we really need distinction besides form factor? would it stop manufacturers from saturating the market with tons of phones that are practically the same? maybe force them to work on a solid lineup of, say, 5 phones. instead of having the 20-30 that most manufacturers do right now...
  6. izu516
    Offline

    izu516 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Android Platform is supposed to unite the platform of phones, not the UI. Manufacturers still need some way to leave their marks with these phones. Let's say the Nexus One had the same UI as every other Android phone out there. It never would have had such a big splash in the mobile scene.
  7. jakedagreat
    Offline

    jakedagreat New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can turn off Sense - it's rather easy.

    Google is your friend. Look it up.
  8. izu516
    Offline

    izu516 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Without a Google Experience ROM (which still isn't helpful since the DROID Eris hasn't been rooted yet), only the Sense home screen can be disabled. The Sense apps (Weather, Footprints, Mail, etc.) still can't be disabled. Lock 2.0 and other lockscreen apps can be used to replace the Sense lock screen though.
  9. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    So HTC forced you to buy one of their phones? Man, that really sucks. :rolleyes:
  10. refthemc
    Offline

    refthemc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    The Droid doesn't have Motoblur, only the T-Mobile Cliq, so the Droid is a Pure Google Phone....
  11. refthemc
    Offline

    refthemc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    What? The Nexus one is just Android 2.1, nothing special. The other Android phones (On all carriers) will be updated sooner or later...
  12. coolkidd
    Offline

    coolkidd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Really? I do not agree with you in this. I am not letting myself be dictated by any company to buy their product. I buy it because I like the product. HTC Sense UI is nice but this is not their buying power in my opinion. :)
Search tags for this page

com.motorola.phones addons

,

com.motorolaphoneaddons