What should I do with this Dell Vostro A90?

Discussion in 'Off Topic Forum' started by Jaxidian, Jun 28, 2010.

  1. Jaxidian

    Jaxidian Team FreeMyMoto
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I have a spare Dell Vostro A90 netbook laying around and I want to put it to use but I really have no idea what to do with it. It has an Atom 1.6GHz CPU, 2GB RAM, a 16GB SSD hard drive, Bluetooth, no 3G, and an absolutely atrocious keyboard.

    Any thoughts on how to put this thing to good/real use?
     
  2. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Swap the hard drive for something huge and make it a Media Center PC.
     
  3. Jaxidian

    Jaxidian Team FreeMyMoto
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Ratings:
    +0
    So a couple ideas:

    1. Hackintosh - The Mini 9 is practically the same netbook, just different plastic on the outside. I finally gave up on this because, to get this to work, you essentially need to have a Mac to assist and I have none available.
    2. Chromium - I gave up because I don't want to get into compiling the source myself and deploying it that way. I wish they just had compiled builds that they've formed into ISOs for me to download or something.

    I'm definitely open to suggestions, though! :)
     
  4. Jaxidian

    Jaxidian Team FreeMyMoto
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Ratings:
    +0
    No go. First of all, the CPU sucks too much (it can't really even handle Hulu). Secondly, this doesn't take a standard 2.5" hard drive - it takes a 50mm mini PCI-e PATA SSD drive only. Or in other words, a 64GB drive is $100 and a 128GB drive is $200+. There's no such thing as a huge drive for this thing unless I went USB external, which that would be pretty much worthless.
     
  5. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Why would it be worthless? I have an ancient crappy PC I use to host media all over my house, no problems -- I'm certain that machine is faster. OK....
     
  6. Jaxidian

    Jaxidian Team FreeMyMoto
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I do already have a dedicated HTPC (dual-core) and file server (7TB). So relatively speaking, it would be worthless. ;-)
     
  7. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll take it.
     
  8. Jaxidian

    Jaxidian Team FreeMyMoto
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was planning on tossing it on eBay if I couldn't find a good reason to keep it. We could arrange that... ;-)
     
  9. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    You have a Droid X?
     
  10. Jaxidian

    Jaxidian Team FreeMyMoto
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not yet. Unless I get convinced otherwise in the next 2 weeks, I will, though. And more and more research into it is giving me reason to consider it (locked bootloader is the #1 culprit of them all, though).
     
  11. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea, I thought about getting it, but I think I might get the Droid Pro when it comes out, or maybe even something made by HTC. You still rockin' the G1?
     
  12. Jaxidian

    Jaxidian Team FreeMyMoto
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup, still going with the G1. The 2 main issues with it are 1) T-Mobile and 2) Severely CPU-limited. It seems that the thing crawls due to the CPU constantly being pegged. I run SetCPU and it makes a HUGE difference, but I just drool at the ability to have a 1GHz CPU that can run laps around this little CPU.

    I can actually get by with the small screen due to the physical keyboard. I still claim that the G1 has had the best physical keyboard of any phone I've ever used or have even seen online! It makes it a synch to type emails while driving without having to look down! :redface:

    Oh, and of course Cyanogenmod sure helps, too! ;-)
     
Search tags for this page
android dell a90
,
dell vostro a90
,
dell vostro a90 16gb ssd upgrade
,

dell vostro a90 android

,
dell vostro a90 android usb install
,

dell vostro a90 hard drive

,
dell vostro a90 hard drive replacement
,
dell vostro a90 ssd upgrade
,
install android on vostro a90
,
install windows 7 on dell vostro a90