Weather Widgets Donate problem

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by shamus, Dec 2, 2009.

  1. shamus
    Offline

    shamus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    As awesome as weather widgets donate is (looks), it lately seems useless when it comes to my location. Right now it's giving me a town about 4 away from mine and it constantly changes to another town even further away.
    Not to mention everyday I wake up and grab my phone it acts like I'm using the app for the first time and takes me through the setup. How many times should I have to tell it to update every hour and use my location?

    I feel like I've tried every weather widget out there but I just can't seem to find the right one.

    Are there any weather widgets that look like WWD but locate properly?
  2. antkneevee
    Offline

    antkneevee New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The issue of having to "reselect" the location has happened to me a few times as well, but only a few times the two weeks I have had it. What do you have your update frequeny set to? Ithink it may only update your location when it updates at the set intervals.
  3. shamus
    Offline

    shamus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I have it set to update every hour.
    What's weird is that I just made a change in the settings and after backing out it actually found my town. I really like the look of the widget I just wish it would work right.
  4. Mayze
    Offline

    Mayze New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you tried beautiful widgets? I had weather widget donate for awhile but decided to try beautiful widgets. Its way better imo
  5. shamus
    Offline

    shamus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I'll check it out thanks.
    Does it follow your location?
  6. paulmac
    Offline

    paulmac New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It does, or you can lock it to a location by zip code or city name and state. I found that locking it in worked better. If I told it to use my location it picked a town close to where I was, but not the small city I was in, which seemed kind of dumb.
  7. jkayner
    Offline

    jkayner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same problem with this widget. I just did an update though so am going to see if it has corrected the problem.
  8. m5ivan
    Offline

    m5ivan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the same problem and downloaded "Beautiful Widgets" and haven't had any problems with it. I had to uninstall weather widgets because even though I wasn't using the widget, it kept asking to me update the location.
  9. shamus
    Offline

    shamus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I also did the update today. I noticed in the change log there was no mention of my problems but so far so good.
    How's yours acting? Any better?
  10. shamus
    Offline

    shamus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I just downloaded beautiful widgets. Am I missing something or is it supposed to be the same exact widget? Although I do like having the temp in the notification bar.
  11. Zippster
    Offline

    Zippster New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    Mine is acting up :icon_evil:with wanting me to input my zip or location pretty regularly again....
  12. Droids
    Offline

    Droids New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The weather channel app. yeah, I know it's not a widget but it's very good at what it does and an icon on one of the desktops brings it up in one touch. Configure multiple locations, all shown on one app screen. For me anyway, it just works and is very reliable.
  13. shamus
    Offline

    shamus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Yeah that's what mine did. Very annoying for a paid app. Did you get the update tonight?
    I just downloaded beautiful widgets. Aside from looking identical to WWD so far so good.
    Earlier today I just happened to glance over at my Droid in the dock sitting on the 'enter location' screen. So annoying.
  14. shamus
    Offline

    shamus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Just an update in case anyone comes across this thread later.
    Beautiful widgets solved all the problems weather widgets has.
    GPS updates location the way it's supposed to, doesn't constantly ask me to update my information, etc. It's been perfect.
  15. jmed99
    Offline

    jmed99 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I paid for the weather donate widget....if it messes up the solution is not to just go buy another widget....I want this widget to work properly or get my $$$ back!
  16. Dream
    Offline

    Dream New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same exact problem, sooooo annoying!
  17. paulmac
    Offline

    paulmac New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I really like this widget, but I have a some issues with it. First of all I would like to see faster updates, meaning right now you can only set it to update once an hour, would like to be able to set it to every 15 minutes or so, like you can with most other widgets and weather apps. Also it has no severe weather alert capability, nor a link to an actualy weather map. It has got the great looks, but now needs the performance.
  18. jkayner
    Offline

    jkayner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i even uninstalled and reinstalled, the problem still persists.
Search tags for this page

droid severe weather alert