WARNING- AndroLib.com infected with Rogue AntiVirus

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Erich_F, Mar 13, 2010.

  1. Erich_F

    Erich_F Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Odessa, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    DO NOT navigate to the AndroLib website for the time being. The site is infected with the rogue anti-virus called Anti-Virus 2010. You do not need to click on anything specific there to activate and install the rogue. I have had it happen on two separate occasions, now. Rogues are quite annoying and difficult to remove. My Norton Internet Security Suite didn't detect the intrusion, nor the infection afterwards. I used MalwareByte's Anti-Malware software to remove the first infection. I manually removed this most recent second infection. For more info on this rogue, Google "Antivirus 2010".
     
  2. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    Been visiting it. Still clean.


    *shrug*
     
  3. Mojo

    Mojo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    Was just there before I saw this post and I have not noticed anything malicious but thanks for the heads up
     
  4. Erich_F

    Erich_F Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Odessa, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I went there last week and got tagged by the rogue. It took me an hour to get my computer cleaned of it. I just went there again tonight, thinking surely it was a fluke...I didn't even click on anything there, and got slammed again.

    If you get tagged by the rogue, it's quite obvious. You will get a fake window pop up that starts "scanning" your computer and finding dozens of "infections" right away.

    I may have been particularly vulnerable since I haven't done a Windows Update since last September, but my Norton is up to date and didn't detect it.

    Who knows how it selects victims, but it's definately on that site.
     
  5. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    Norton is garbage.
     
  6. Ricocht77

    Ricocht77 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    Current Phone Model:
    Xperia Z3v
    i was on there this afternoon and i was "attacked" by something but my Norton did block it (it was recently updated so that might have been your issue) but there is definitely something still going on that site
     
  7. ldimick

    ldimick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Avast has prrotected me a couple of times from that site over the past few weeks. Of course, using a non-Microcrap browser doesn't hurt either.
     
  8. baniels

    baniels Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    52556
    Ratings:
    +0
    Norton is the virus.
     
  9. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2

    The only safe thing to do when this occurs is to use task manager to shut down your browser. If someone can program the [ok] button of a popup to install something they also can program the [cancel] button to do the same thing. For that matter they also can program the X button to install instead of canceling the pop up. Alt-f4 to close the window but then when you try and leave the bigger main-page the pop-up comes back. Task manager (right click on the task bar at the bottom of the screen) lets you just kill the process or task.
     
  10. nighthawk700

    nighthawk700 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I got it this past Thursday as well. Found a site that told me how to kill it. I went on AndroLib again today, without anything jumping out on me, but I'm keeping a close eye out...
     
  11. Rouge

    Rouge Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive had this twice in the past week and it is a pain in the a** to get rid of. Now i know where i caught it thanks for the heads up.
     
  12. seang

    seang Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i was on androlib today, and came out without issue. i only use firefox to browse the web.
     
  13. KevinJ

    KevinJ Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been on that site a few times today, and probably every day fora while, and have had nothing untoward happen. No pop-ups, no viruses, nothing.

    Of course I'm fully up-to-date with my OS & anti-virus (I agree Norton sucks), and haven't used IE in years.
     
  14. seang

    seang Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i was just there again, only using AVG, and firefox. no issues, not even a warning from AVG.
     
  15. qwiksilver711

    qwiksilver711 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Backwoods Montana
    Ratings:
    +0
Search tags for this page

droid 4 antivirus warning

,

how to detect spyware on android

,

malwarebytes for android