Using the Volume Rocker to Switch Songs?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by ezeddiekun, Dec 15, 2009.

  1. ezeddiekun
    Offline

    ezeddiekun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nevada
    Anyone know how to do this? In other words I want to press and hold the down volume button for it to switch to the next song! I really don't like unlocking the phone and going to the media player just to change the song. Any ideas on how to do this?
  2. markmicallef
    Offline

    markmicallef New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How would you adjust the volume, if it was assigned to switching songs? because it is a mechanical switch a long press probable won't work.

    Although I am not an Engineer, so I may be wrong.
  3. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nothing as far as using physical keys for song changes...
  4. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,790
    Likes Received:
    576
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    great idea, but like the others say, volume would then be a problem.

    i would think the key is just wired to adjust volume, dunno if it'd be able to differentiate from going to max volume or skipping a song via holding it down
  5. J-Buck
    Offline

    J-Buck New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lol i bet u had a blackberry before your Droid :)
  6. sixtytwo
    Offline

    sixtytwo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What about using the camera button? 1 click = play/pause, 2 clicks = next, 3 clicks = previous. That button's not doing anything when the phone is off anyway.

    However, any physical button function modification is going to require some sort of hack, since it's not a preference you can set in a menu, well, at least not one I can find. Now that the droid's been rooted, I'd imagine it's only a matter of time before a solution of some sort surfaces.
  7. Big Cam
    Offline

    Big Cam New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    I was thinking the same thing.
  8. ezeddiekun
    Offline

    ezeddiekun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nevada
    How do I change what physical buttons do?
  9. Jer
    Offline

    Jer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    I just can't stand not having a pause or mute button while it's locked. That part I did like about my BB.
  10. bacalao
    Offline

    bacalao New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    On the Storm it was two clicks up or down that would change songs. and the lock button would mute/pause/play sounds or music. This didn't work for streaming radio which is what I mostly do for music.
    That was actually nice, but since I usually use Pandora, not really missing much except the mute button.
  11. markmicallef
    Offline

    markmicallef New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    pulling the headphone jack will pause it.
  12. Jer
    Offline

    Jer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Plugging and unplugging the headphones repeatedly isn't a viable solution. That's a good way to end up with static due to poor connection over time.
  13. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i agree... and you unfortunately have to unlock the phone to 'play' again
  14. Wiineedmore
    Offline

    Wiineedmore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This does work and is available in the CM6 rom, however I just switched to a new rom modded by some chinese devs and its sic ! But, I still need this (Long press volume up or down to go through tracks) in my new rom
Search tags for this page

android how to set the volume buttons to skip songs on pando

,
android volume key change song
,
blackberry volume rocker switch tracks on android
,

can i use volume rocker to change music

,
galaxy s4 music change track volume button
,

hold volume to change song android

,
how change songs volume button windows tablet
,

how to skip media with volume button

,
how to turn galaxy s4 volume controls to change to next song
,
how to use volune key to change track on galaxy s4
,
use volume keys to go to the next song on droid x
,
volume up to switch tracks on droid