1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Using De-activated Droid as Ipod Touch

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by chtorr281, Sep 22, 2010.

  1. chtorr281
    Offline

    chtorr281 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I currently have a Droid 1 under contract. If I upgrade to the Droid X and the Droid 1 gets deactivated, will it still function like normal with wifi? I just want to give it to my daughter so she can use it on wifi for web browsing, mp3s, games, etc. just like an Ipod Touch.

    A deactivated Droid won't constantly be asking for you to activate it or have other problems?

    Thanks,
    Chris
  2. jordanzink
    Offline

    jordanzink New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My friend from school has a droid 1 that he hasnt activated yet, and he just uses it as an ipod basically, and he has downloaded some apps and stuff. but i dont know about the being asked to activate thing
  3. Dark Lazer
    Offline

    Dark Lazer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    No it wont ask you to activate. Just turn on wifi and you're good to go.
  4. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    awesome! More reason to keep my d1 when I upgrade.
  5. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,607
    Likes Received:
    488
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    like the other posts won't ask to upgrade.

    makes a great media device once it's time to upgrade. that's my plan as well.
  6. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    63
  7. stanrc
    Offline

    stanrc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just upgraded to the fascinate from a droid 1 and I could still use it just fine over wifi. I can't confirm market worked though, but its perfectly usable still.
  8. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Awesome!!!

    -Matt
  9. mountainbikermark
    Online

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Likes Received:
    370
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I still use my Omnia as a PDA via wifi. The only thing I can't do is text,pix messages, or make calls since they must use the network.
    Don't know why a Droid would be any different

    wified from my Incredible monolith using SlideIT on Tapatalk
Search tags for this page
activate wifi on deactivated android
,
apps for texting on a deactivated droid
,

can i use my droid like an ipod

,
can you use a droid as an ipod touch
,
how do i use my droid as a ipod touch
,
how do i use wifi on a deactivated droid
,
i deactivated my samsung fascinate - can i still text with i
,
i have a droroid, how can i use it with my duaghter's ipod
,
market problems deactivated droid using wifi
,

use wifi on deactivated droid 1

,
using a de activated phone
,
using a droid as an ipod
,

using deactivated droid x

,

using droid as ipod

,

wifi deactivated droid