Upgrading to JB and want to keep Root? Check this tip!

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by xPlatinum-Androidx, Apr 17, 2013.

  1. xPlatinum-Androidx
    Offline

    xPlatinum-Androidx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So in many other forums and also this one, I see people who updated JB via OTA or by downloading the update and flashing it through recovery. Some tips are saying for people to uninstall Safestrap recovery? and BS?

    I don't have Safestrap nor BS [whatever that is] installed on my phone. Just wanted to mention that before I continued.


    Anyways, one of the tips was to protect root if you already have it on ICS by using OTA Voodoo Rootkeeper. If you're rooted on ICS, just install it and press on Protect Root. Here's the tip that worked for me. When you are going to install JB, DON'T PRESS THE OPTION TO TEMPORARILY UNROOT IN OTA Voodoo Keeper. Just protect your root and install JB. Once its installed, go back to OTA Rootkeeper and press Restore Root. Voila, you'll still be rooted. If you decide to temporarily unroot then re-root once you installed JB using OTA Rootkeeper, you'll most likely be one of those people saying they lose root.
    1 person likes this.
  2. giant25
    Offline

    giant25 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    That's a good tip, but many other tutorials on this topic also stress that you need to update your SU binary BEFORE using OTA RookKeeper (by Supercurio - Project VooDoo). To do this for Superuser, open Superuser, press the Info tab, and press "tap to check for updates" under the "su binary" line. Press Update if there is one available. For reference, my binary was old, and updating it put it on v3.1.1. Similar steps exist for SuperSU (alternative to Superuser) but I don't have it. I then went to OTA RootKeeper and pressed Protect Root as you mentioned. I pretty much performed the steps you did from then on, except that I rebooted after pressing "Restore Root." I think this last step might be unnecessary, but someone else I know suggested it so I played along. Good luck folks.
  3. xPlatinum-Androidx
    Offline

    xPlatinum-Androidx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh yeah I had also updated SuperUser a few days before deciding to download the JB update.
  4. Hugh Jass
    Offline

    Hugh Jass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I'm not too awful concerned, I haven't been rooted since the last update pushed. How many times historically over the last 10 devices has a pushed update permanently stopped root from being reacquired again through a new exploit?
  5. zebo51
    Offline

    zebo51 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Worked for me.
  6. buellboy9
    Offline

    buellboy9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Got the OTA update this morning. I used SafeStrap to uninstall the recovery (NOT the entire app!! Just the recovery environment) and used Voodoo OTA Rootkeeper to temporarily disable root (after confirming that I had the latest version of SU... that hasn't changed in MONTHS).

    After the update I had to delete and recreate the "Power" widget and put the new "Camera" app back on my home screen. I then used Voodoo OTA Rootkeeper to restore root, and then reinstalled the Safestrap recovery environment. For once, everything worked EXACTLY as it was supposed to. :icon_ banana:
  7. Scribble
    Offline

    Scribble New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Uninstalled Safestrap recovery, and the App, updated SU Binary, and protected Root through OTA Root Keeper- and it appears I've kept root...

    So far JB seems nightmarishly slow on my Bionic... I'll give it a bit to see if it's just settling in... But I might be headed back to Cyanogenmod soon. :p
  8. buellboy9
    Offline

    buellboy9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    No issues with performance here, BUT I did notice the News/Weather app consistently crashes on start up, and the Amazon Kindle app will also crash a minute or two after you've opened your "Archives." Hoping those get fixed soon.
  9. Scribble
    Offline

    Scribble New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone having wifi issues? I'm sitting right next to my router, and I seem to be getting almost no signal... Downloads are going extremely slow.
  10. ChiefIlliniwek5
    Offline

    ChiefIlliniwek5 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I manually updated using the zip file that was posted on DF a few days ago. I was able to keep root and it is a working g root. Here's what I did:

    1. Backed up all data
    2. FXZ back to the stock ICS build (I had pushed the Google now feature so I couldn't update without erasing everything)
    2. Rooted my blank ICS using razors edge tool
    4. Backed up root with the root keeper app (voodoo)
    5. Manually updated via recovery
    6. Restored root with root keeper
    7. Reboot

    Root works!

    When I tested to see if root really worked it took a few moments for root permissions to be granted, but it did.
  11. Scribble
    Offline

    Scribble New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Root Checker says I have Root... but for some reason System Tuner seems to think I don't.
  12. drust
    Offline

    drust New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    seems like they are not caring much about root anymore. i didnt even fxz to stock.

    all i did was restore frozen apps and it installed
    used vodoo to restore root and i was up and running no problems
  13. buellboy9
    Offline

    buellboy9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I didn't even bother "unfreezing" the frozen apps. It installed anyway.
  14. lgalcarte
    Offline

    lgalcarte Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8

    image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg

    There is no option TO PROTECT ROOT...:icon_eek:
  15. breatheoflife
    Offline

    breatheoflife New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Root checker says I don't have root, yet, I'm still able to do everything such as Titanium Backup and such. :blink:
  16. xPlatinum-Androidx
    Offline

    xPlatinum-Androidx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You must already have root protected then. Because those two options you have [delete su backup and temp un-root] are shown AFTER you have protected root. Do you remember protecting root. I don't want to say you protected root because you see the other menu only for you to lose root :icon_eek:
Search tags for this page

bionic jb root

,

keeping root bionic

,

motorola bionic root jb

,
ny rooted s4 keeps freexing
,

ota rootkeeper bionic

,

root bionic jb

,

root verizon droid bionic ota april 2013

,

root via ota

,
supersu keep root
,

supersu keep root ota bionic

,

voodoo root keeper

,
where does voodoo rootkeeper keep its files