***Updated*** Easy Root Available. 3 step process

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by cnmsales, Mar 26, 2011.

  1. mhawk71

    mhawk71 New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    it doesnt really take that long just follow the instructions carefully and it will work. took me one time to do it
     
  2. 04CiviCon20s

    04CiviCon20s Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    952
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Meffa, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can confirm this..I did this within 20 mins or so and it worked FLAWLESSLY:icon_ banana:
     
  3. DancerGeek

    DancerGeek New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok I am having some major issues... I've been trying for awhile now, I think I am missing something though, so help me out.

    I have HTC Sync installed on my computer.
    I have HTC Thunderbolt Easy Rooter installed and unzipped.
    I plug in my phone, put it on Charge Only.
    I turn WiFi off on my phone.
    I put my phone on USB debugging mode.
    I go onto the easy rooter program and click step 1. Here's what happens:

    It says "Reading devices", then a window pops up that says
    "Windows cannot find 'C:\Users\username\Desktop\adb.exe'. Make sure you typed the name correctly, and then try again."

    I feel like what I missed is obvious, but I read the directions all the way through multiple times, so I don't understand what I'm doing wrong.
     
  4. beckamgop

    beckamgop New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    That's what kept happening to me. Decided just to learn ADB instead.
     
  5. bL33d

    bL33d Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got a thunderbolt on the way. Kinda sux there's no easy root I mean I used adb to root my og droid but just seems old school.
     
  6. PikaCane

    PikaCane Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The other side of there
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine went through the whole process with what looked like success after a couple of tries, but I don't have root. I have superuser in the app drawer, but nothing can get su. I've seen posts where this happened to other people, and they were advised to repeat steps two and three; I've done both repeatedly, although repeating step three without redoing two just has the computer screen blink a "Congradulations!" message without rebooting the phone. Sigh.
     
  7. phreek

    phreek Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    My new Thunderbolt will be here on Thursday. Can't wait! Hopefully I won't have all the crazy issues with rooting that some of you seem to have had...
     
  8. brybe

    brybe New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am having an issue pushing the files.

    I originally started pushing files with onlyl the root.exe file (didn't download the main bundle of files), and therefore got several errors due to the missing ADB. After I closed out of the root.exe, downloaded the files, and tried again, I am getting a quick list of 5ish things that it says it is pushing. This takes <2 seconds then I expect it is supposed to reset.

    I don't think it is pushing the files though, and it is not resetting. Anyone know what I can do to fix this?

    (ps I have WIFI off, debug enabled, and am in charge only mode)

    EDIT: Solved the problem with a hard reset. Root successful.
     
    #380 brybe, Jun 24, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2011
  9. phreek

    phreek Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Been trying all day to get this to work, hopefully the hard reboot works for me.

    Darn, didn't work for me... :/
     
    #381 phreek, Jun 28, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2011
  10. Hangtenboy

    Hangtenboy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Phone would not restart

    Hope this helps and I did see it somewhere else but when my phone would not reboot after Step 1 then I did 2 different things

    Switched from the usb port on the side of my laptop to the one on the back: That didn't fix it

    Then I ran rooter.exe as administrator in Vista and BAMM! It worked finally! Hope this will help someone else!
     
  11. goresnet

    goresnet Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you root after the new OTA? I'm not off work till next weekend, and planning to root then. Right now the OTA is not available to me, but I imagine it will be this week. In planning to root, should I plan on avoiding this OTA?
     
  12. blackngray70

    blackngray70 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is a version of the new OTA for rooted users.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
droid charge easy root
,
easy root droid charge
,
easy root for thunderbolt
,

easy root thunderbolt

,
failed to set prot mask
,
failed to set prot mask (inappropriate ioctl for device)
,
failed to set prot mask (inappropriate ioctl for device) psn
,

mmap() failed. operation not permitted

,
one step root
,
root droid charge easy