Update locked my phone up

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Top_Droid, Jul 2, 2011.

  1. Top_Droid
    Offline

    Top_Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL
    I just updated my Dorid X the the settings panel, and it changed my status bar from white to blue. The phone will start up and load all my previous apps, but then it wont let me do anything. If i try opening an app or anything else it FC's and if i click FC, rather than wait or report. It blanks out my screen and I have to pull the battery to try something else.

    I'm running GoLauncher as my default home screen.

    Pleas help!
  2. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    You updated your phone to Gingerbread. You will probably need to wipe data which will erase your phone (but not your SD card)

    sent from my ApeX
  3. Top_Droid
    Offline

    Top_Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL
    How would I do that if my phone is locked? I literally cant do anything on it
  4. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Try a factory reset. Go into settings/privacy/factory reset.

    From the Self-Aware Droid 2 APEX GB v2.0
  5. Top_Droid
    Offline

    Top_Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL
    Is there anyway to do that remotely? Every I try to do anything it FC's or just doesn't launch any apps
  6. Top_Droid
    Offline

    Top_Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL
    z4root

    My phone is rooted with z4root, if that helps at all
  7. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Boot into stock recovery by turning the phone off. Then hold power and camera and volume buttons. Then when you see the triangle with the!, hit the search button. scroll to wipe data/reset. Do it there and reboot

    From the Self-Aware Droid 2 APEX GB v2.0
  8. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    I have a d2, so im not totally sure of the dx button combo. Try what I suggested though

    From the Self-Aware Droid 2 APEX GB v2.0
  9. Top_Droid
    Offline

    Top_Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL
    It took me to a bootloader screen, but it just says

    "Bootloader 30.04"

    "battery OK"
    "OK to Program"
    "Transfer Mode:"
    "USB"
  10. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Thats the bootloader. My bad, power and the home key. Like I said, not on a dx here. Trying to remember the dx combos

    From the Self-Aware Droid 2 APEX GB v2.0
  11. Top_Droid
    Offline

    Top_Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL
    Great, I got to the triangle with the !, but nothing else happens when I hit the search...or anything else for that matter.
  12. d4dEf@c@
    Offline

    d4dEf@c@ New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    For giggles try pursuing the power button from that screen...

    Sent from my DROID2
  13. Top_Droid
    Offline

    Top_Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL
    It doesn't do anything from that screen. I hit the power button, and tried holding it. I have to pop the battery out.
  14. xXGH05TXx
    Offline

    xXGH05TXx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    On Gingerbread instead of the search button its the volume button down. That's what worked for me

    RubiX Focused DX
  15. Top_Droid
    Offline

    Top_Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL
    that works for me too, but how do i select it?
  16. Top_Droid
    Offline

    Top_Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL
    that works for me too, but how do i select it?
  17. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,546
    Likes Received:
    1,070
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Select with power button.

    sent from droidforums app
  18. Top_Droid
    Offline

    Top_Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL
    Great, thank you guys>> I got it restored and rebooted.

    Now I just have to restore everything I had.....Was it just the switch to GB that did that. Or could it have been an app?
  19. xXGH05TXx
    Offline

    xXGH05TXx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    Gingerbread

    RubiX Focused DX
  20. Top_Droid
    Offline

    Top_Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL
    So when I update my wife's phone I'll have to do the same thing?
Search tags for this page
android locks up after update
,
android update locked my phone
,
android update locked up my phone
,

droid 3 locked up

,
my android locked up after update
,
my phone locked up after an update
,
updating my droid locked me out
,
why did my phone lock after updating android