Unstable Overclock, can anyone recommend settings? [DX/D2 Overclock]

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by arrjaytea, Dec 26, 2010.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. arrjaytea
    Offline

    arrjaytea Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had been using the 1.3 preset:

    Max: 1300000

    Slot 1: 400000
    Slot 1v: 27
    Slot 2: 700000
    Slot 2v: 38
    Slot 3: 100000
    Slot 3v: 56
    Slot 4: 1300000
    Slot 4v: 68

    Using this preset I basically had 4-5 reboots in a matter of 4 hours.

    I liked the speed while it was functioning, but have since moved to the 1.2 preset (I'll spare the details), but what I'm wondering is that from reading a fair bit, I'm seeing higher voltages seem to equal greater stability, and so I'm wondering at 1.2 or 1.3, what are safe voltages to play around with that would fall in the category of "high voltage"?

    I've been searching the forum here, and at XDA, for answers for a while now with no luck - so if this has been a common discussion and gets no responses I'll take the hint and try harder.
  2. arrjaytea
    Offline

    arrjaytea Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well just a minor update, but it's been over an hour at the preset 1.2 with no reboot, so I'm guessing the 1.3 needs a bit of tweaking I'm simply not yet comfortable with.

    If this stays stable, it might be good enough. The performance increase is still notable, though also not as much.
  3. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    The voltages may be a little too low for the first 2 slots.

    Might try upping them a little bit and see how that goes.
  4. arrjaytea
    Offline

    arrjaytea Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you recommend any increments to try?

    Apologies, I'm quite new to the overclock world and have had a difficult time understanding what kind of parameters are safe in these kinds of things.
  5. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try

    Max: 1300000

    Slot 1: 450000
    Slot 1v: 36
    Slot 2: 700000
    Slot 2v: 48
    Slot 3: 100000
    Slot 3v: 55
    Slot 4: 1300000
    Slot 4v: 67

    Somewhat how I have mine setup just at a lower overclock. I tweaked the voltages a bit to kind of match how that would work with the 1.3GHz settings. Let me know how it works out!
  6. arrjaytea
    Offline

    arrjaytea Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mega, thank you. Will give this a shot this evening. Really appreciate it. [​IMG]
  7. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problem man! Let me know if you need anything else!
  8. arrjaytea
    Offline

    arrjaytea Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well early signs are promising, my first reboot (which I thought was just a fluke) earlier was less than an hour in. Temp is remaining pretty consistent at approximately 86 degrees F, everything running very smoothly.

    Hopefully the same can be said around this time tomorrow, but regardless of the result thanks again for trying to lend a hand, Dustin.
  9. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    Post back and let me know how it runs threw the night, if the reboot problem proceeds, I'll tweak with my D2 when I get home and see if I can't find a set profile for ya!

    And no problem man, that's what I'm here for!
  10. arrjaytea
    Offline

    arrjaytea Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, a couple hours on and it's reboot a couple of times so I've reverted back to the 1.2 profile (the most stable thus far, no reboots), does this generally indicate there's still an increase needed?

    Also, any idea as to why the issue diminishes at higher voltage?
  11. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    Because at lower voltages, it becomes unstable because its not getting enough juice. So it just shuts off. Ill work on a custom profile for ya tonight.

    Sent from my DROID X.
  12. cydetrakd
    Offline

    cydetrakd Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i use to be able to run at 1.4 on the newest apex rom with only one unexpected reboot since it came out. On squidlyrom i was able to go as high as 1.35 with same results but lately i'm back to 1.35 max i dont know why but i'll stick with 1.35 does anyone know why this would happen how can i run at 1.4 no probs for a long time and all of a sudden its 1.35 max.

    I'm hoping someone can hack that damn bootloader so we can load up custom kernals and one day get cyanogenmod on our phones. i was all hyped for the moto etna but now i'm not sure going to wait it out. my brother gave me the d2 for an early christmas present so i'll rock it for almost a year and hopefully something will come out thats perfect for me until d2 all the way.
  13. Taegost
    Offline

    Taegost Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    Ratings:
    +1
  14. arrjaytea
    Offline

    arrjaytea Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers, thanks again man - you've been boatloads of help.

    And this is a HUGE help. I've been basically looking for just this and failing utterly and completely. Thank you.
  15. arrjaytea
    Offline

    arrjaytea Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I've been riding the 1.2 preset in the DX/D2 Overclock app and it's been entirely stable, but it's a wonder how that little .1 difference between clocking at 1.2ghz and 1.3ghz makes in performance.

    I've still had little to no luck with any recommended voltages at 1.3 - but I'm seeing some folks report stable profiles at as high as 1.4, is each device really that different or am I just barely missing something crucial here?
Search tags for this page
como funciona dx/d2 overclock
,
droid 2 good overclock setting
,

droid x overclock settings

,

dx overclocker

,
galaxy s3 unstable overclock
,
htc dx overclock
,
htc wildfire overclock settings
,
s3 fastest overclock safe us
,
safest and fastest rooted overclock settings for droid x
,
safest overclock setting for galaxy nexus