1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Two problems with my new galaxy

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by thetanman101, Aug 2, 2012.

  1. thetanman101
    Offline

    thetanman101 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1. First problem is my screen automatically dims any time I open my Internet. No changes in my display settings have had any effect.


    2. Second problem is when I'm in the middle of calls, anytime I need to select a number I lower the phone and my number pad is displayed. It then blacks out before I can make a selection. Sometimes I can get a number selected but it will always black out before I can input a multiple number selection.
  2. jgmecarter
    Offline

    jgmecarter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You have to go into the settings in the web browser it self there is a brightness level that you have to adjust just for the internet itself. As far as your second question. I do not know if there is anything in the setting that will change that for you. But I had that problem with the droid charge and the nexus and both times Verizon replaced the phones and it took care of the problem.
  3. thetanman101
    Offline

    thetanman101 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I'd be looking for this on Google's home page? All I'm finding is search settings and nothing in reference to screen views.
  4. jgmecarter
    Offline

    jgmecarter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go into settings from the google home page and scroll down until see brightness level
  5. nuch14150
    Offline

    nuch14150 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    Settings. Power saving.change third option for Internet background brightness
  6. thetanman101
    Offline

    thetanman101 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This got it. Thanks! What is Haptic Feedback?
  7. zacedward
    Offline

    zacedward New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Its the vibration when you touch the keyboard or select menue or apps
  8. thetanman101
    Offline

    thetanman101 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And it's back to dimming again. Frustrating. All the auto features are turned off the display options. All battery saying is turned off. Uggh.
  9. Ozzzy3z
    Offline

    Ozzzy3z New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I fixed the dimming Internet issue by downloading Boat Browser. It is fast and stays nice and bright.
  10. Jake Benson
    Offline

    Jake Benson New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I turned off the power saver and my screen no longer dims while on the Internet.
  11. MistaWolfe
    Offline

    MistaWolfe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow..

    It's called a proximity sensor, you geniuses.

    Lol...

    P. S. Maybe you two need to go back to your blackberries ;-)

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
  12. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    That is a pretty unproductive and unnecessary post, try and keep it helpful and friendly around here please.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX.
  13. MistaWolfe
    Offline

    MistaWolfe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You are correct, so my apologies -but, I was right. That's the proximity sensor. Look in settings under the dialer and there should be an option to disable.

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
  14. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    That is much more productive, thanks. :)

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX.
  15. MrBunster
    Offline

    MrBunster New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't have a dimming problem with Chrome. Give that a try.
  16. thetanman101
    Offline

    thetanman101 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Followed a suggestion to open browser and push the menu key next to the browser button. There is another group of settings here with a category for screen auto dimming and power saving. That got my problem resolved. Thanks for all the he'll and suggestions. A little too much redundancy happening here with multiple places to affect the same settings and none of them interfacing.
  17. jgmecarter
    Offline

    jgmecarter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I do not understand why they make it to where we have to change so many light settings. A lot of people keep saying that the S3 is not very bright but that's just because people have not figured out that they have to turn the brightness up for every function this phone has. They should have categorized this all in the settings. It is nice that we can set a different brightness levels for different things. But it sucks that they have made it so hard for people to figure it out
Search tags for this page
galaxy s3 signature text
,
how to change text message signature on samsung galaxy s3
,
how to set a signature on a galaxy s3 text
,
how to set up text signature on samsung galaxy s3
,
how to turn off signature on galaxy s3
,
how to turn off text signature on galaxy s3
,
how to turn on proximity sensor samsung galaxy s3
,
proximity problem in galaxy s3
,

samsung galaxy s3 text signature

,
samsung s3 e mail signature problem
,
set text signature samsung galaxy s3
,

text message signature on galaxy s3

,
under text signature s3
,
what is signature text on samsung s3