Transfering Contacts "Dumbphone" to a Droid

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by jwd45244, Nov 3, 2009.

  1. jwd45244

    jwd45244 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
    Yup easy as pie, well could be, few more steps then i wanted to deal with but whatever. :)
     
  3. Jason

    Jason Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Salinas, California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does Verizon do this for you if you go to a local store?
     
  4. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
    I believe that best buy is touting that everything will be transferred for you, VZW may or may not.. i hope they do, just to make everything easier for people.
     
  5. Jason

    Jason Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Salinas, California
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hope Verizon does. I remember when my phone would break and I would get a new voyager they would transfer the contacts to the new phone easily but maybe its different when switching to a smart phone but hopefully not
     
  6. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
    It is different, they want to save your contacts through their app, then use the webpage to transfer it to google, then from google upload it to your phone.
     
  7. garrett

    garrett Silver Member Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    In a van by the River......
    Ratings:
    +4

    yes they have done it for me a few times in the past....
     
  8. LifeIsABeach

    LifeIsABeach Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't want Verizon to transfer anything for me. I already went to Google Contacts and added everyone's phone number, email address, and physical address so I can be ready to call, text, email , or navigate to anyone as soon as I log into my google account on the Droid.
     
  9. bamfsig45

    bamfsig45 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ICT
    Ratings:
    +0

    +1 that's what I have done, I knew I was getting this phone so I prepared. Log in to my Google account and bam, contacts, calendar all ready to go.
     
  10. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
    I mean you can do the same thing that they would, if you follow the same directions from the website, just use the backup app, save them to the web, download them from verizons contact list, then on our google account upload it from the file form and you should be good.
     
  11. RayPaganJr

    RayPaganJr Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pembroke Pines, Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did it before when I got my last phone. I know it's different now, but it was easy back then. The only thing that didn't work was saving my pictures. I don't know if I did something wrong. Now I don't care if my pix are saved or not.
     
  12. Neofite

    Neofite Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    MV, MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    I transfered all my contacts over this passed weekend also used Bitpim to get the pics off my Dare on to my computer.
     
  13. moparharn

    moparharn Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you kidding me? I gotta go thru all this BS just to sync

    my phone with my Outlook. Currently I open Blackberry Desktop manager and connect my phone and click Syncronize. This way anything I added to calendar or contacts on either device ends up on the other. I imagine that someone will develop an app for this, but as of this Friday is there no way for me to easily keep my Droid and Computer on the same page? This combined with the recently learned "no tethering" is starting to give me another round of doubt about buying this phone. :mad:
     
  14. jwd45244

    jwd45244 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    This thread is about transferring contact from a dumbpone to a Droid not from outlook on a Blackberry. Also the tethering issue has been addressed by Verizon. It is not here , yet but it is coming.
     
Search tags for this page
how to get contacts off a dumb phone
,

how to transfer contacts from dumb phone to smartphone

,
how to transfer contacts from feature phone to android
,
how to transfer contacts from stupid phone to smart phone
,
how to transfer numbers from dumb phone to smart phone
,

transfer contacts from dumb phone to android

,
transfer contacts from dumb phone to smart phone
,

transfer contacts from dumb phone to smartphone

,

transfer contacts from feature phone to android

,
transferring contacts from dumb phone to android