Touchscreen bugs...

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by dannydoes, Nov 20, 2009.

  1. dannydoes
    Offline

    dannydoes New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    So the touchscreen which generally is pretty good, I'm finding to be more and more flakey. Either not recognizing I touched it, or recognizing it, but giving some kind of vibration error as the phone doesn't obey the command by touch, but instead vibrates as if to say, duh, what?

    An easy example is the facebook widget (big one with the status updates). I'll keep hitting the arrow to scroll through the updates and about every 5th time, it vibrates instead of goes.

    I find this all over the place and it's very annoying. I see it on video reviews of the phone too. This happens with the 4 buttons at the bottome as well. I really hope they fix this with the upcoming update.

    Also seems weird that it happens in some places and not in others. For example when I use the landscape screen keyboard, it never misses. It's perfect.

    Anyone got any ideas or comments?
  2. Bhinderoid
    Offline

    Bhinderoid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've. Noticed a ton when I scroll down it thinks that I am selecting a program or clicking a link. Very annoying.
  3. otaku
    Offline

    otaku New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    I've noticed when I select a program or clicking a link it thinks I'm scrolling down and takes me down FAST! I wonder if it's just the way I tap?
  4. RacerX
    Offline

    RacerX New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know you can set the sensativity of the touchscreen for your individual style of touching the screen. Maybe that would help?

    Not sure how you get to that setting but I bought the film screen cover and the instructions suggested I adjust if neccessary. No problem so I left it.
  5. Dan_Droid
    Offline

    Dan_Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had this happen a lot, and I am almost certain it is because of the way I'm clicking. If I just quickly tap on a link on the screen, it thinks I am quickly flicking rather than tapping. If I slow down a bit and press for a second instead of just tapping, it doesn't happen. So basically, yeah, it's probably just the way you tap.

    As far as the vibrating goes, I don't know about the facebook widget because I don't use it. But the phone does vibrate when you try to do something that can't be done. For example, if you click on the Menu button while inside of an app that doesn't have a menu, the phone will vibrate. Or if you click the Back button on the Home screen. It's basically saying, "Hey, you can't do that here so press something else." I don't think it's a bug. I think it's supposed to be a feature.
  6. atomicwedgie
    Offline

    atomicwedgie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    Many have tried to find this elusive setting but have failed.

    Actually I don't think it's in the current carnation of the OS.
  7. JLB09
    Offline

    JLB09 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I saw that on the film screen cover instructions that it said to adjust the settings for your individual style but it did not say where that setting was located and so far I have searched all the logical places and not found this option.
Search tags for this page

flaky droid touchscreen

,

htc rezound touch screen flaky