Toggle mobile data?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Turbo' started by ethan_glaud, Apr 2, 2015.

  1. ethan_glaud

    ethan_glaud Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    So I have the turbo, and when at school I turn on airplane mode to turn off mobile data. Then I can turn on wifi and enjoy that without having my phone searching for service. I can use wifi just fine, but cannot send or receive text messages over the wifi (others can). So what's up? Is it the airplane mode? Keep in mind I can still browse and use apps with Internet using data, not sure what to do.
     
  2. AvaMichele

    AvaMichele Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +166
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy Note 4
    I think it depends on which text application you are using. I never use airplane mode, so I can't say for sure, but if others are getting texts using airplane mode that could be a reason.

    ✋ Sent from my Droid Turbo with Tapatalk
     
  3. AvaMichele

    AvaMichele Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +166
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy Note 4
    I have a galaxy tab 4 that only has Wi-Fi, and I am able to get text messages on it, but I never put it in airplane mode.

    ✋ Sent from my Droid Turbo with Tapatalk
     
  4. iiWoodstocK

    iiWoodstocK Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Ratings:
    +61
    I believe SMS sends through the cellular network, not Wifi. And unfortunately the mobile data square in the notifications shade doesn't have the long press functionality, so you'd have to open tap that, tap the on/off toggle, then dismiss the next pop up warning you that you won't have any data transmissions go through if you turn mobile data off. Are those "some others" iPhone users? iPhones using iMessage send through the data connection as well as WiFi. However for other Androids, I do not know. And it also depends on whether or not they're sending an SMS text, or sending messages through some other app that doesn't send SMS

    You could look into an automation app to automatically set mobile data off during school hours, then it'll also automatically re-enable at the end of the school day if you set it up to do that. I personally use Tasker, but there are some others that are more straight forward.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    7,217
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,731
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    If the phone is in airplane mode, you cannot receive text messages. @iiWoodstocK is correct SMS texts are sent and received using the cell signal and that is shut off in airplane mode. MMS texts (with pictures) need a 3G or 4G signal if it is a Verizon phone. Have you considered just turning off Mobile Data instead of Airplane Mode? You would still be able to send and receive SMS texts because the cell signal would still be on. You would not be able to receive picture texts (MMS) with Mobile Data off, but could receive normal texts.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. ethan_glaud

    ethan_glaud Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    That explains a lot. On my old phone I could just turn off mobile data, but on this phone I don't see an option. Are there any apps that let me override the basic settings?
     
  7. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    7,217
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,731
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    When you go to Settings > Data Usage > Is there a Mobile Data On/Off toggle or Checked / Unchecked option on the top right? That's where it has been on all of my previous Droids and my Samsung Note work phone. A friend of mine just bought a Turbo and was asking me where to see data usage, how to turn it off, etc. and pretty sure he said it was right there on his.
     
    • Winner Winner x 1
  8. ethan_glaud

    ethan_glaud Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well i'll be damned, thanks, there is.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    7,217
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,731
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    Good deal!
     
  10. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    7,107
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,455
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Here's a widget that you can put on your homescreen that claims to take out the extra steps.
    Data Enabler Widget - Android Apps on Google Play

    If it doesn't work, there are others. This was just the top-rated when I searched the Play Store.

    My Note 4 has a toggle in the notification bar, so I haven't had need for anything like this.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. iiWoodstocK

    iiWoodstocK Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Ratings:
    +61
    You can also use two fingers and swipe down from the top to get to some quick settings (or just swipe down with one finger then press the square in the top right corner) and some of these tiles you can long press to toggle on/off like WiFi, unfortunately for the Mobile Data tile you have to tap that to open the same menu @sajokaz mentioned. Some tiles that have a menu as well (from what i remember Wifi, BT, Location) require a long press to toggle, then the other tiles without a menu like Airplane mode you just have to tap once.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. sugee

    sugee Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    I have used this for the past 4 months and it works just fine
     
    • Like Like x 1
Search tags for this page

android 5 toggle mobile data

,

how to add mobile data on toggle bar droid turbo