Thunderbolt, Stock Browser - HTTP always in front??

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by owwo, Apr 14, 2011.

  1. owwo

    owwo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, I've got my TB and have installed an earlier version of Swype (Evo).

    I love that swype works great, except for the auto space with the stock SMS (Handcent FTW).

    I've tried Dolphin Mini/HD, FF and Miren. I gotta say that I'm loving Miren, but because Swype auto space doesn't work at all, I'm back to the stock browser.

    One of the things I love is being able to just type in search words in the browser bar, but I have having to erase the "http://www." everytime in the stock browser.

    For example, if I want to search for "amsterdam", I go to the top, touch the browser bar, and see that everything is highlighted...EXCEPT for the "http://www."

    So I need to manually delete/clear out the "http://www.", then go back and swype "amsterdam" to search from the bar.

    Is there anyway to have the stock browser take out the "http://www." on the Thunderbolt as a default?

    p.s. does Miren support swype auto space...if so, how?
     
  2. jimmiem

    jimmiem Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This drove me nuts too. I never found a solution. Currently I'm using DolphinHD which I'm quite happy with. In my quest I tried a lot of browsers. It is possible to find a stock Froyo browser which is similar to the HTC browser but doesn't auto-populated the http://www.
     
  3. CDuke619

    CDuke619 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My solution is press the magnifying glass and it will bring up search then just type.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  4. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    go into browser, tap address bar, longpress addressbar, select all, type your search
     
  5. jimmiem

    jimmiem Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^ yeah, it may not seem like a big deal to some but to me that is a huge pain in the tush to have to do everytime you enter a search.

    Honestly my biggest problem is that I could not get used to not typing www. I had the HTC Touch Pro WinMo phone and the browser on that worked the same way. Even after two years with that phone I still couldn't get used to it. I would enter an address and it would try to go to http://www.www.url.com. Every. Single. Time.
     
Search tags for this page
default browser on thunderbolt htc
,

htc thunderbolt default browser