Swype keyboard on Rubix

Discussion in 'Drod2169 - X' started by pcg0d, Mar 1, 2011.

  1. pcg0d

    pcg0d New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have rubiXFocused1.9.7 installed. I use Swype all the time. I'm not a fan of the dark keyboard. Does anyone know how to replace it or change the color?

    Sincerely,
    -pc
     
  2. wmedina1991

    wmedina1991 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just do a search in google for a themed swype apk.
     
  3. Fascinate user

    Fascinate user New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What's the apk at the end.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  4. Fascinate user

    Fascinate user New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    And will it also work on the fascinate.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  5. wmedina1991

    wmedina1991 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    .apk is just file identifier. and if its a apk it should work.
     
  6. pcg0d

    pcg0d New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    APK is the file extension of the android package files you can install on your phone.

    I've searched for a few of them. I'm going to try one I found here:
    Download: 5 Additional Swype Colored Keyboards - Droid Life: A Droid Community Blog

    I figured not everyone would like the black swype keyboard when switching to this ROM so someone would have found one that works great on this one.

    Hopefully one of these will work great.
    Thanks
     
  7. meshdub

    meshdub Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. pcg0d

    pcg0d New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there anything different between the one that came from motorola or the beta one?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  9. meshdub

    meshdub Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, the beta is an updated latest version. Has a bunch of improvements, like tapping on a word to bring up a list of suggestions
     
  10. potatman

    potatman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    Erm, how does one uninstall the version of swype that comes with the Droid X?
     
  11. jaded

    jaded New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would also like to know how to remove the Swype that comes installed in Rubix so that I can install the beta installer. dancedroid
     
  12. meshdub

    meshdub Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is how I uninstall Swype on my X. Not all of those might need to be removed, but I like to clear out everything before installing the beta.

    Remove the following files:
    data/dalvik-cache/system@app@swype
    data/data/com.swype.android.inputmethod
    system/app/swype.apk
    system/lib/libSwypeCore.so

    Basically I did a search for "swype" and wiped everything.
    Make sure to reboot after uninstall and before installing another version.
     
  13. potatman

    potatman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can confirm that meshdub's steps work. Maybe we could get a script for this in future version?