Swype Beta

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by cdtdelta, Jan 12, 2011.

  1. cdtdelta
    Offline

    cdtdelta New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey all,
    I've been using Gummy up to 2.5 and I've been able to use the Swype Beta by just removing the libSwypCore.so file from /system/lib and then running the beta installer. It's worked out great....

    However now that I have Liberty on my DX it doesn't seem like I can do the same method anymore.

    Is there any way I can run Liberty with the "official" Swype Beta? I've tried installing Liberty over Gummy without a wipe and with, doesn't seem to make a difference.

    Thanks ahead of time.....
  2. Carpatus
    Offline

    Carpatus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There's two other files you have to remove. Don't remember what they are right now but I will look and get back to you on that. If you want to try and find them yourself though, you can search the official swype forums. That's where I found the thread.

    Ok, here's the instructions I found.

    Edit:Get a root file manager (I use root explorer)
    1. Change your default input method to anything other than Swype.
    2. Mount file system as R/W
    3. Delete (or move/rename) \system\app\swype.apk
    4. Delete (or move/rename) \data\dalvik-cache\system@app@Swype.apk@classes.dex
    5. Delete (or move/rename) \system\lib\libSwypeCore.so
    6. Reboot
    7. Download and Run the latest Swype Beta installer
    8. ENJOY!
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2011
  3. cdtdelta
    Offline

    cdtdelta New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2011
  4. mikeyinid
    Offline

    mikeyinid Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Idaho
    Why are you using the swype beta and not the actual swype that came with the phone? Its posted everywhere...xda...If you go over and run a search its there. It installs no prob
  5. cdtdelta
    Offline

    cdtdelta New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Swype Beta is a newer version. Just got used to that one.
  6. mikeyinid
    Offline

    mikeyinid Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Idaho
    Ah, I see. I know when you try to use the beta on phones that come with it you run into issues. Glad you got it figured out :)


    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  7. Transparent
    Offline

    Transparent New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wish liberty would come without swype pre installed. It's a hassle every update to remove and reinstall the beta version. Not to mention the rom is supposed to be aosp as possible. I think that's my only gripe about liberty!
  8. Inkarnit
    Offline

    Inkarnit New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buckeye, AZ
    I've used both the old swype and new swype... version 1.something and version 2.something... Other than looking different, which can be changed by themeing it anyway, what is the difference? Works the same as far as I can tell...
  9. chessnut
    Offline

    chessnut New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  10. mcp770
    Offline

    mcp770 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville
    I personally think the themed swype that came with Liberty is great. No real reason to beta a keyboard in my opinion...seems pointless. But thats jmo.