SICK of Facebook app taking up RAM on its own. Anyway to stop it?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by Erikbal, Nov 15, 2011.

  1. doogald

    doogald Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    FWIW, I have found that LauncherPro is one of the worst for avoiding launcher restarts. If you do switch to LP (or LP+), keep that in mind if it keeps happening, and think about using a different launcher.

    Also, of course, the more widgets that you use, the more likely that the launcher will be marked inactive. If you do have a lot of launcher restarts, it may be worthwhile to start taking off widgets to see if losing one or two of them helps with this.

    Facebook takes up about 16 MB of RAM on my phone most of the time. If I actually activate the app and then go in to check RAM usage, it goes up to 37 MB. I agree that it's kind of a crappy app. There is the Moto Social Networking app that can include Facebook updates - that may be better for you. Tweetdeck can also show updated wall postings, etc. And, of course, the Facebook mobile web site isn't terrible.
     
  2. DELUXDroid

    DELUXDroid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just let it run. Killing it and restarting it will only eat up more memory, cpu and battery. I don't kill ANY apps and my Droid 3 can go for almost 3 days...
     
  3. AsX0

    AsX0 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Even if Android memory management is good, there is still a problem with this apps starting in the background. When they actively initialize before going to sleep, they tend to supersede programs in memory, even if those are more frequently used by you. For example Facebook or Maps started by a service can kill the browser. Of course these apps will be immediately killed again when you launch the browser and it needs memory, but the browser itself will launch slower and will have to reload pages.
     
  4. Erikbal

    Erikbal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    How much ram do you usually have free? I don't know if its some sort of acd or something but I like to keep my used ram below like 250mb. I just think it's stupid that since one of the FB updates it starts on its own and will sometimes take up 40+mb of ram which is completely unnecessary.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  5. Malvado

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    There is no way to stop this. And there really isn't a problem with it on your phone. Just let it be. Or uninstall the app if it really bothers you.

    Sent from my Droid 3 directly to YOU!
     
  6. Erikbal

    Erikbal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Mine was set to push automatic, I don't know what that means so I changed it to the max amount of time. Will that make a difference?

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  7. techRob

    techRob Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Montana
    Ratings:
    +1
    Mine's only using 7.4 idle...

    Tap'd via OG Droid on life-support...
     
  8. Erikbal

    Erikbal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I think with mine the longer it runs in the ram the more it takes up. Or if I use the app for a while then I'm done and check it it's way up there. How much free ram do you have right now?

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  9. Erikbal

    Erikbal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I did what you guys suggested about data delivery notifications and all that and it hasn't made a difference so I guess I'll just have to live with it. Im curious what your guys ram is usually at...

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  10. DELUXDroid

    DELUXDroid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have around 80mb free usually.

    My advice like I said earlier is to remove any app killers you have, reboot your phone, and LEAVE IT ALONE. Killing apps will just eat up more ram and more battery.

    I use my phone heavily and I always have plenty of battery left at the end of the day.

    App Killers = Bad.

    If you want Facebook on your phone, then install it and LEAVE IT ALONE.

    If you want to use it occasionally then either 1.) Use a browser for regular facebook or 2.) uninstall the app when you're done using it...

    I don't know what else to tell you guys.
     
  11. spunker88

    spunker88 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Uninstall it if you don't want it running. The app wants to run all the time and give you status updates, etc. But if you are only a casual Facebook user you can just use the mobile website and not have to deal with the app.
     
  12. DoctorDeDroid

    DoctorDeDroid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    The best part about it is that it runs constantly even though I don't have a facebook account. Frankly I think it's ridiculous piece of garbage... it never did that until the latest update but that's why it's no longer on my phone.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  13. Htown315

    Htown315 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Syracuse N.Y.
    Ratings:
    +10
    Freeze the app when not in use as I said on page 1 or live with it running .
     
  14. Droid3Guy

    Droid3Guy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do you get "Tibu" anyway? I couldn't find it in the market when I did a search for it.
     
  15. Htown315

    Htown315 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Syracuse N.Y.
    Ratings:
    +10
    Titanium Backup. You need the pro version to freeze apps although there are free apps that freeze I'm sure. For any rooter tibu is a must have IMO.
     
Search tags for this page
android kill facebook app
,

android stop facebook service

,
facebook android ram
,
facebook app uses too much memory
,
how to stop facebook app running in background android
,
how to stop facebook from running in the background android
,
how to stop facebook from running on android
,
how to stop facebook running in background android
,

stop facebook from running in background android

,
why does the facebook app take up so much memory