Shamu 5.1.0 on Factory Images Page Now

Discussion in 'Motorola Nexus 6' started by djsiva, Mar 12, 2015.

  1. djsiva

    djsiva Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Ratings:
    +46
  2. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,871
    Likes Received:
    609
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +678
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    Just when I get done side loading the zip with ADB. :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. bkdodger

    bkdodger Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    6,997
    Likes Received:
    3,605
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Staten Island, New York
    Ratings:
    +3,871
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
  4. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,871
    Likes Received:
    609
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +678
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    Only time I have seen it stutter so far is when closing things like the app drawer, or backing out of an app. I am still using Nova Launcher, maybe I should give the Google Now Launcher another shot.

    Not rooted, and still encrypted.
     
  5. bkdodger

    bkdodger Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    6,997
    Likes Received:
    3,605
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Staten Island, New York
    Ratings:
    +3,871
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Did you download new Nova beta? They updated nicely with Material design features...



    Tap'd by Big 6
     
  6. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,871
    Likes Received:
    609
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +678
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    Still on version 3.3 from the PS.
     
  7. bkdodger

    bkdodger Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    6,997
    Likes Received:
    3,605
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Staten Island, New York
    Ratings:
    +3,871
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
  8. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24,165
    Likes Received:
    5,230
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +5,813
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,871
    Likes Received:
    609
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +678
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    Not sure if I am going to remove encryption this time. Do need to get root back though. My phone had been acting funny so I wanted to do a full flash to stock wipe data/cache. Then I side-loaded 5.1, wipe data/cache, and installed my apps back from Google backup.

    I might regret that if there is no way now to get root back without wiping data again.
     
  10. bkdodger

    bkdodger Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    6,997
    Likes Received:
    3,605
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Staten Island, New York
    Ratings:
    +3,871
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Root should not be a problem.. You can either load it thru PC or flash it in TWRP if you going custom recovery..

    Tap'd by Big 6
     
  11. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,871
    Likes Received:
    609
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +678
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    If I am still OEM unlocked, can't I just flash the CF Auto Root.img with Fastboot? Nothing will be wiped since I am already unlocked right? Then I can use Flashify to put on TWRP?
     
  12. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,871
    Likes Received:
    609
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +678
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    Disregard. Just flashed the TWRP recovery directly and it prompted me to root upon exiting the first time from TWRP. And this is why I love having a Nexus device.

    An unlocked bootloader makes everything so much easier.
     
    • Like Like x 1