Sense 3.5 on a Gnex?

Discussion in 'Galaxy Nexus ROMS' started by Insidious, Dec 27, 2011.

  1. Insidious
    Offline

    Insidious New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    I'm a fan of sense, but I can't get myself to by a phone running gb, so because of the open bootloader, would a sense 3.5 ROM be possible on the Gnex?

    Sent from my Cellular telecommunications device, manufactured by Motorola.
  2. droid.
    Offline

    droid. New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One Question... Why?
  3. Insidious
    Offline

    Insidious New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Lol I knew id get that. Im not sure, Im a sucker for fancy animations.

    Sent from my Cellular telecommunications device, manufactured by Motorola.
  4. alienware777
    Offline

    alienware777 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You realize that a sense rom would be gb not ics right? Just get a phone that has it.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
  5. Insidious
    Offline

    Insidious New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    True I didn't think about that. So if a Sense ROM were to happen, we'd have to wait for Sense ICS to be released. Ah well, not a big loss.

    Sent from my Cellular telecommunications device, manufactured by Motorola.
  6. cupfulloflol
    Offline

    cupfulloflol New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There have been ports (or are ports) of some of the other UIs to different devices. Most I have seen have had some quirks, like things not functioning 100% properly.
  7. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    I think a port would take some time.. im no coder but when making themes I do have to edit it. Speaking of blur (cause I only know blur) the parts that make it are a blur-res.apk and a moto-res.apk to go along with the standard framework-res.apk. In addition to that, a lot of apps are also blur to get the experience right... phone, dialer, contacts, email, launcher to name a few. Each of those blur apps call to the frame, the blur frame and the moto frame to make one happy cluster... of a mess. So to incorporate it into this phone, you would be bringing a whole lot more than just "sense".

    Not saying it cant be done but, I would think, it would be more feasable to see a sense ROM instead of a sense theme or sense port.

    I guess what Im saying is, if you are looking, you are definately looking for the right thing (a rom).. but you will need sense for ICS to come out and then some developer to make a ROM that includes all the correct apps and dependencies.
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2011
  8. doublea500
    Offline

    doublea500 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i think it will eventually happen but it wont be too stable. look at the droid 1, they had an unstable sense rom that never got out of beta. i believe jamezelle made it, its in the d1 rom section. but now the developers know even more about android, and we are able to get more done. so it depends on if a developer wants to work on it or not.
Search tags for this page

sense 5 galaxy nexus