1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Screen Capture

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by MrMan, Nov 18, 2009.

  1. MrMan
    Offline

    MrMan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Just curious to see if anyone has found an app for capturing our screens? I've looked up and down through the forums and haven't seen one. I'm using a MacBook and coudn't use the sdk trick.
  2. Stigy
    Offline

    Stigy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,083
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
  3. MrMan
    Offline

    MrMan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    ...i should have looked further, thanks! this is a pain, i hope some one develops an app soon!
  4. Stigy
    Offline

    Stigy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,083
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    The only other developed app required the phone to be rooted.

    I hope Motorola/Google develop an easier way like the iPhone.
  5. MrMan
    Offline

    MrMan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Amen Stigy!
  6. danDroid
    Offline

    danDroid Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ya, I think this should be a feature built into the OS.
  7. Utzz
    Offline

    Utzz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just a FYI - dxTop doesn't require root access and takes screen captures.
  8. Huma
    Offline

    Huma New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yup, you can set it to take a screen capture by pressing the camera button.
  9. stevier
    Offline

    stevier New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay, so I have dxTop installed, but can't figure out how to reprogram the button. Little help for a newbie?

    Thanks!
  10. stevier
    Offline

    stevier New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Never mind. Found it. *facepalm*
  11. xxfire
    Offline

    xxfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't find dxTop, just themes...
    Help me, I wanna facepalm too... lol
  12. stevier
    Offline

    stevier New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dxTop

    I know. Had a hard time finding the app myself. It's actually called dxTop: Home Alternative. Do a search in the app store and you should be able to find it there.

    Good luck! :)
  13. xxfire
    Offline

    xxfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you sir.
  14. stevier
    Offline

    stevier New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Officially, it'd be "ma'am," but you're welcome! :)
  15. xxfire
    Offline

    xxfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LOVE IT ! Thanks SO MUCH !!!
  16. marsha12151
    Offline

    marsha12151 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    So help a buddy out....

    Where is it? How do you do it?

    I have DXTop - love it!!! but everything I can find about doing a screen capture just says - found it!

    Well, I have not found it!

    Thanks
  17. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    knowing that DxTop can take a screen shot what are the chances of a stand-a-lone app to do this being developed? I don't want to use home... i have another home replacement I prefer but would love to be able to take screen shots without using the SDK.
  18. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i'm hoping for the same thing. i have my home perfectly set up the way i want it with Home ++, and don't want to install DXtop just for screenshots. and for the life of me cannot figure out why the SDK method doesn't work in Win7. anyway, rant over. :)
  19. stevier
    Offline

    stevier New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On your home screen with dxTop activated, choose the context menu button (bottom, second-from-left), and choose dxTop. That's where all the settings are. :) Enjoy!
Similar Threads
  1. shane1v
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,412
  2. lawdawg06
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    845
  3. cleave
    Replies:
    19
    Views:
    29,176
  4. Kobe24
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    911
  5. siohwito
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    525
Loading...
Search tags for this page

droid x screen capture app

,

dxtop take how to take screenshots

,

how to screenshot on a droid a855

,

how to take screenshots on a motorola a855