Safe Mode Not Loading.

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by stonehenge69, Apr 11, 2010.

  1. stonehenge69

    stonehenge69 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I screwed up. When I first got my Droid I accidentally downloaded HelixLauncher2 (my 1st mistake). I was able to get out of it and downloaded the right version and never got around to uninstalling the prior (my second mistake).
    Tonight, I accidentally hit the wrong version to set as the default (my... you see a pattern developing here?) and now I'm getting the "Evil Looping Force Close".

    I've tried to boot up in safe mode multiple times using the following procedure.

    1. Power off your device.
    2. Slide open the keyboard and power on by holding power AND the “menu” key at the same time.
    (menu key is on the physical keyboard. Little dashes)
    3. Continue holding the menu key until you get to the Droid eye.
    4. The phone should now vibrate and boot into safe mode. You will see "Safe Mode" in bottom left corner.

    After the phone vibrates, my normal home screen appears. As soon as I unlock it, it goes right back to the looping force close.
    Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong or what my next move is?
     
  2. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5,407
    Likes Received:
    1,046
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +1,138
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    My only thought is to do a factory reset. If you hadn't set it to default, you could've tried to sneak a tap of the home button between force closes, but that won't work here. Is it so bad that you can't get into settings our the market? I'm assuming so...

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. RoLa

    RoLa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    801
    Ratings:
    +0
    After you have powered off the device, slide open your keyboard press and hold menu, shortly after.. press and hold power....KEEP HOLDING EVEN AFTER THE VIBRATION!!! I usually hold down until I see the lock screen and the sdcard notification go away.
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2010
  4. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5,407
    Likes Received:
    1,046
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +1,138
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Follow Rola on this one if you haven't already done the reset. His way is less of a pain if you can get it to work! I've never had a reason to enter safe mode this far, so he's got a better idea of what's up.

    Thanks Rola!

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  5. RoLa

    RoLa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    801
    Ratings:
    +0
    .............Yep:)
     
  6. stonehenge69

    stonehenge69 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, I tried this several times with the following results.....

    DROID... Red Eye... Vibration.
    DROID... Red Eye... Vibration.
    DROID... Red Eye... Vibration.

    It'll continue to cycle the above as long as the buttons are pressed.
    I tried it by holding just the menu key as well as holding both the menu key and power button at the same time.
    Either way, the results are the same until I let go of the buttons and then its back to the home screen with the screen lock.
    Unlock, and its back to the looping force close.

    It looks like a factory reset is my next option but from what I've read, this is done through the menu which I can't get to.
    Is there another option that an old man can actually follow to factory reset?

    This is my company phone and I really need to get up and running again.
    BTW.... The phone is stock with the 2.1 update and has not been rooted.

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2010
  7. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,150
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +223
    i have heard there is no recovery for 2.1, but try this. power off, open keyboard, hold x and press and hold power button. hold them both until moto M come up. Tell me what happens after that.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  8. stonehenge69

    stonehenge69 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This took me to a screen with a "!" inside of a triangle.



    .
     
  9. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,150
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +223

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  10. stonehenge69

    stonehenge69 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Done.
    I'm now looking at a screen with a few options in blue at the top and in yellow below the triangle it says "E: Can't open/cache/recovery/command".
     
  11. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,150
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +223
    what are your options?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  12. stonehenge69

    stonehenge69 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    reboot system now.
    apply sdcard: update.zip.
    wipe data/factory reset
    wipe cach partition
     
  13. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,150
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +223
    wipe data......use d-pad to scroll down and select it then reboot
    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  14. stonehenge69

    stonehenge69 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ITS ALIVE!!!

    I reactivated, signed in, and it looks like its good to go.

    Thanks for all the help everyone.
    jstafford1.... your a life saver.

    There for a while I thought I might have to resort to "plan C" ( a 230gr. hollow point :) )

    Thanks again.
     
  15. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,150
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +223

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
Similar Threads
  1. SuGaR
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,562
  2. foolish1
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    3,853
  3. nolanrupp
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
  4. jawgapeach
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    726
  5. sharkattack99
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    3,615
Loading...
Search tags for this page

cannot get droid increadable in safe mode

,

droid incredible will not enter safe mode

,

droid incredible won't go into safe mode

,

droid x 2 wont boot to safe mode

,

droid x wont go past red eye

,

galaxy s3 wont go in safe mode

,

motorola droid will not go into safe mode

,

open keybowrd in safe mode droid 4