1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Rooted .596 Gingerbread now available

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by wrightperspective, May 28, 2011.

  1. wrightperspective
    Offline

    wrightperspective New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    Last edited: May 28, 2011
  2. michaelearth
    Offline

    michaelearth New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you lose all your data from installing it manually?

    If so would creating a backup of froyo than uograding manually to the official gb and booting back into recovery and do an advance restore. Only restoeing the data from my froyo nandroid,. Would that work?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  3. Speeding Wheels
    Offline

    Speeding Wheels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit - in da burbs!
    stoooooopid question here.. but I cant find the answer anywhere (and yes, I've Google'd it)

    where can I find the TBH app?
    it's not in the market
  4. milski65
    Offline

    milski65 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Orange Virginia
    I just got it off their site 40 minutes ago. Google team black hat. It'll come up. You'll have to download firefox browser to get app. It's 1.99. Great buy. Downloaded to computer first.
  5. Liberated56
    Offline

    Liberated56 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will I still be able to use my netflix app I got from zombiestomped cuatomizer after getting this?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  6. 116699
    Offline

    116699 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will it work if im on. 595 gb zombiedstomped? Or will I need to sbf?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  7. milski65
    Offline

    milski65 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Orange Virginia
    Someone confirmed it worked on zombie over at xda. Don't have a clue about netflix running or not. Still some bug about the camera going from 8mb back to wide screen after rebooting. A few seem to be upset by that fact. Haven't seen any other issues yet.
  8. 116699
    Offline

    116699 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm my wifi keeps stopping...it'll work the ill have to turn it on and off for it to work again

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  9. zero7404
    Offline

    zero7404 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    question: when it says that 588/591/595 must have been installed (in the descriptions for 596), is it implied they all have been installed in that order, or any of the 3 is fine?

    on my phone i did 573, 588 (3 part) and then 591.

    sent via android
  10. modisch
    Offline

    modisch New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DC metro area
    i would assume any of the three, not those three in that sequence.

    -m
  11. zero7404
    Offline

    zero7404 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for the reply ... i think its best to wait for a definitive answer because i dont want to mess up my phone.

    sent via android
  12. Antob125
    Offline

    Antob125 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If I install rooted 596 deodexed over my 595 will my custom Zapx rom still work or do I have to sbf?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  13. Scallywag1
    Offline

    Scallywag1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It will work. Came from broodcomb. Wiped cache to be safe. All is well. Make sure u have the correct radio. Ur baseband should end in 12 not 07. For full details see droid life.
    Sent from my Liberty GB v5 DX
  14. Antob125
    Offline

    Antob125 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea but if you wiped cache then you lost your data!?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  15. creaky
    Offline

    creaky Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NY
    Sorry if this is not posted in the right place - but I thought you guys would know:

    Since 596 has been rooted will those who have the OTA installed be able to root pretty soon? Or is that a different can of worms?
  16. p2x3yz
    Offline

    p2x3yz New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bootstrap

    Anyone know why they suggest not using the Droid X boot strap?!
  17. sigua
    Offline

    sigua New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Supposedly x bootstrap doesn't work with gingerbread.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  18. wrightperspective
    Offline

    wrightperspective New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    If USB debugging is not unchecked then DX boot strap won't work and may cause issues. D2 boot strap works on DX even if you have it checked.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  19. p2x3yz
    Offline

    p2x3yz New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It says in the two part install specifically not to use the droid x bootstrap. I went ahead and used it anyway without any issue.
  20. JoJoLanny
    Offline

    JoJoLanny New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spring Hill, TN
    GB update.....

    I know you may be sick of stupid questions....... but is this GB update for the latest Liberty .5 release? Or is the Liberty .5 with the new kernel already up to date?