1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Root with no pc?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by shrap707, Sep 19, 2011.

  1. shrap707
    Offline

    shrap707 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is my first post nd I am fairly new to the android scene, but basically I would like to know if there is a way to root my phone without using a computer as I don't have one ( my droid 2 is my computer!!!). I tried the z4root but then learned it wouldn't work cuz I updated to gingerbread. After that I tried the GingerBreak v.1.2 wich doesn't work it just keeps attempting to root...for a bout 2 hours. Yes usb debugging is on and sd card is mounted. Any help would b greatly appreciated! TY

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  2. joncann
    Offline

    joncann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Z4root was the ****! I'm in the same boat. Recently had to replace my r2-d2 and I had forgotten how much I hated the bloat on this bad boy. Need to root it soon or I'm going to explode.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  3. Squeak87
    Offline

    Squeak87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    I am having the same exact problem with my Droid 2. I am running Gingerbread 2.3.3 and cannot seem to root it.

    sent from my Droid 2
  4. joncann
    Offline

    joncann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had to borrow a computer and root my phone squeak. Really the only way to do it with the new gingerbread.
  5. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Yessir. Only way to root is with a computer, unless you're on Froyo

    CM9
  6. Squeak87
    Offline

    Squeak87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    I also tried rooting it from my computer but it freezes after exploit 1 when trying to reboot phone, and phone is stuck at bootloader screen.

    sent from my Droid 2
  7. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Did the phone have any water damage or anything hardware related?

    What root method? What GB version were you on?

    CM9
  8. Squeak87
    Offline

    Squeak87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    I bought the phone used but it has no water damage and no hardware damage, it has been working great. I tried using almost every root method out there. Gingerbreak, Petes Tools, and SuperOneClick are a few I have tried. I am running GB 2.3.3

    sent from my Droid 2
  9. joncann
    Offline

    joncann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is your phone set to charge only? I bricked my first R2-D2 unrootting while not having it in charge only. That might be your issue.
  10. Squeak87
    Offline

    Squeak87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    Well the tutorials say to have it in PC Mode but I have tried Charge Only Mode with the same results. I believe it is my data cable because it is for an LG phone.

    sent from my Droid 2
  11. Squeak87
    Offline

    Squeak87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    So just to clarify, when I do the root should I have it in Charge Only Mode?
  12. joncann
    Offline

    joncann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Follow the instructions specific to the method you are using. They are not going to all be the same. I used Pete's Root Tools and it worked perfectly. I also had it in charge only mode. My concern - and I am by no means and expert. Is that since you have tried so many different method things might be muddled. I would try and get your phone back to stock before you start playing with it again. It is difficult to completely brick a D2 but it is not impossible. Don't cut corners. Look at every detail in the instructions. Once again my advice is to start over. I don't know how to fix it but if you search this forum and others you should be able to find an answer.
  13. Squeak87
    Offline

    Squeak87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    Currently my D2 is back to its factory settings. Thank you for the tips.
  14. Squeak87
    Offline

    Squeak87 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    ::Update:: Finally got my Droid 2 rooted, I tried different root tools and computers but could not root GB 2.3.3, so I flashed back to Froyo 2.2 and from there I installed z4root and was rooted within a minute.
  15. newandroidfan
    Offline

    newandroidfan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tired of rooting your device via Odin and OneclickRoot and still remain unrooted? Check out the Framaroot App right here How To Root Your Device Via FramaRoot Without Using PC - Techies Net that will root your device within 5 seconds without changing your kernel or recovery. All this is possible even without touching your computer.
  16. AECRADIO
    Offline

    AECRADIO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Payson, AZ.
    I love Framaroot so much, I have it on every SD card in our phones, and two backup SD cards.

    *Don't leave phone without it*
Search tags for this page
how to root droid incredible 2 no computer
,
how to root droid incredible 2 without a computer
,
how to root droid incredible 2 without computer
,
how to root droid incredible without computer
,

how to root droid x2 without computer

,
how to root gingerbread without computer
,
how to root htc incredible 2 without computer
,
how to root htc incredible without computer
,
root droid incredible 2 no computer
,
root droid incredible 2 without computer
,
root droid x2 no computer
,

root droid x2 without computer

,
root gingerbread without computer
,
root incredible 2 without computer
,
rooting droid x2 without a computer