Root with no pc?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by shrap707, Sep 19, 2011.

  1. shrap707

    shrap707 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is my first post nd I am fairly new to the android scene, but basically I would like to know if there is a way to root my phone without using a computer as I don't have one ( my droid 2 is my computer!!!). I tried the z4root but then learned it wouldn't work cuz I updated to gingerbread. After that I tried the GingerBreak v.1.2 wich doesn't work it just keeps attempting to root...for a bout 2 hours. Yes usb debugging is on and sd card is mounted. Any help would b greatly appreciated! TY

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  2. joncann

    joncann Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Z4root was the ****! I'm in the same boat. Recently had to replace my r2-d2 and I had forgotten how much I hated the bloat on this bad boy. Need to root it soon or I'm going to explode.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  3. Squeak87

    Squeak87 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    Ratings:
    +3
    I am having the same exact problem with my Droid 2. I am running Gingerbread 2.3.3 and cannot seem to root it.

    sent from my Droid 2
     
  4. joncann

    joncann Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had to borrow a computer and root my phone squeak. Really the only way to do it with the new gingerbread.
     
  5. brad92

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    Yessir. Only way to root is with a computer, unless you're on Froyo

    CM9
     
  6. Squeak87

    Squeak87 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    Ratings:
    +3
    I also tried rooting it from my computer but it freezes after exploit 1 when trying to reboot phone, and phone is stuck at bootloader screen.

    sent from my Droid 2
     
  7. brad92

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    Did the phone have any water damage or anything hardware related?

    What root method? What GB version were you on?

    CM9
     
  8. Squeak87

    Squeak87 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    Ratings:
    +3
    I bought the phone used but it has no water damage and no hardware damage, it has been working great. I tried using almost every root method out there. Gingerbreak, Petes Tools, and SuperOneClick are a few I have tried. I am running GB 2.3.3

    sent from my Droid 2
     
  9. joncann

    joncann Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is your phone set to charge only? I bricked my first R2-D2 unrootting while not having it in charge only. That might be your issue.
     
  10. Squeak87

    Squeak87 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    Ratings:
    +3
    Well the tutorials say to have it in PC Mode but I have tried Charge Only Mode with the same results. I believe it is my data cable because it is for an LG phone.

    sent from my Droid 2
     
  11. Squeak87

    Squeak87 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Plantersville, Texas
    Ratings:
    +3
    So just to clarify, when I do the root should I have it in Charge Only Mode?
     
  12. joncann

    joncann Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Follow the instructions specific to the method you are using. They are not going to all be the same. I used Pete's Root Tools and it worked perfectly. I also had it in charge only mode. My concern - and I am by no means and expert. Is that since you have tried so many different method things might be muddled. I would try and get your phone back to stock before you start playing with it again. It is difficult to completely brick a D2 but it is not impossible. Don't cut corners. Look at every detail in the instructions. Once again my advice is to start over. I don't know how to fix it but if you search this forum and others you should be able to find an answer.
     
Search tags for this page
how to root droid incredible 2 without a computer
,
how to root droid incredible 2 without computer
,

how to root droid x2 without computer

,
root droid incredible 2 without computer
,
root droid x2 no computer
,

root droid x2 without computer

,
root gingerbread without computer
,
root gingerbread without pc
,
root htc incredible 2 without computer
,
rooting droid x2 without a computer