Root/OTA problem for the gurus

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by Lars1, Sep 30, 2011.

  1. Lars1

    Lars1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SL,UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,

    Rooted (1-click root)
    Froze bloatware (Bloatware Freezer)
    Unfroze bloatware
    Tried to install OTA update
    Update failed.

    The only thing I changed (I think) was deleting the original Swype and replacing it with the new version.

    Would that cause the OTA to fail? Do I need to unroot first?

    Any help/ideas would be greatly appreciated,

    Thanx

    Edit- I found this advice:

    1: Download the 5.6.890 SBF file HERE
    2: Download RSDLite 5.5 HERE
    3: Extract the contents of the SBF file to a folder on your computer
    4: Install RSDLite
    5: Boot the Droid 3 into bootloader by holding both Vol+ & Vol- at the same time when powering the phone on
    6: Select "AP Fastboot" and press Vol+ to select it
    7: Select the XML from the extracted SBF file in RSDLite
    8: Connect the phone, and when it says "Connected", hit "Start"
    9: Wait for the phone to finish flashing, and booting (it will reboot a couple times, leave it alone, its supposed to!)

    Will this get me where I want to be (after re-rooting)? Will it wipe my device?

    Thanx again!
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2011
  2. Phibernaut

    Phibernaut New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm no guru, but I'll tell you how I fixed mine - fastboot flash the original system firmware. It takes the update without issue.
     
  3. Lars1

    Lars1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SL,UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would you mind giving a bit of instruction and, will this wipe my device?

    Thanx
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2011
  4. Phibernaut

    Phibernaut New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I PM'd the process I used since I'm not sure what the rules are regarding posting outside links.

    For those wondering, it involves "moto-fastboot flash system system.img".

    I'm still a newbie so I worry about sending people into potentially risky processes, but this worked worked for me in the wee hours of last night and the OTA update came down without issue. I did not unroot but I did restore bloat and because this targets only the system folder the process did not wipe my phone.
     
  5. tlpalmer01

    tlpalmer01 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i had the rooted d3 and beta swype...i unfroze bloat, installed ota.....rerooted with one click, still have beta swype so far no problems...update had been successful...