Root for the stratosphere?

Discussion in 'Samsung Stratosphere' started by chewy74, Nov 8, 2011.

  1. chewy74
    Offline

    chewy74 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +16
    Is anyone working on rooting the Samsung stratosphere?

    If so are there any updates?

    ________________________
    You had me at herro
     
  2. Demolition Man
    Offline

    Demolition Man Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pawnee, IN
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. chewy74
    Offline

    chewy74 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +16
    Thanks for the link up

    Anyone root yet? Want opinions for those who rooted and their experiences to see if it worth it before rooting the wife's phone

    ________________________
    You had me at herro
     
  4. Demolition Man
    Offline

    Demolition Man Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pawnee, IN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine is rooted. At this point the biggest benefit of rooting is getting rid of the bloatware along with other apps that require root. I do recommend reading the Rootzwiki thread before rooting. I do have the Samsung drivers posted in there somewhere which you'll probably need. If you got any further questions feel free to ask.
     
  5. chewy74
    Offline

    chewy74 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +16
    yeah, thats what i was rooting for...wife was complaining about the bloat
     
  6. sagarmody
    Offline

    sagarmody New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there.. I tried to root my phone, but cannot..
    I got the phone to be detected on the cmd window.
    And after that, it says, to flash it using one command. I copy and paste it.
    Then then guide says that the phone will reboot with yellow ! triangle symbol.
    It doesn't!! It just stays at the same window "Downloading.. Do not turn off target!!"

    Can you please help me as to how can I get it flashed so it reboots with ! yellow symbol?
     
  7. Demolition Man
    Offline

    Demolition Man Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pawnee, IN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Multiupload.com - upload your files to multiple file hosting sites!

    md5: ef0c998d89dd50d0d5069432a330862

    Download and install the drivers with phone unplugged from your PC. Reboot your computer. Then plug your Stratosphere into your PC so it can detect the drivers. Restart the ADB process from the detect point in the steps. You should be able to complete the rooting process from there.
     
  8. sagarmody
    Offline

    sagarmody New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, I downloaded and installed the driver.
    And I also flashed the phone.
    The phone rebooted..

    I turned on the USB debugging. And it is currently on!

    BUT, the step after turning on debugging, i.e. Now, in the command window, make sure your phone can be seen..

    I am not able to see that device. I am not sure how to do these steps.. Can you please help?
    The heimdall folder with the extracted files are on desktop in C drive.

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2011
  9. Demolition Man
    Offline

    Demolition Man Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pawnee, IN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unplug and replug the phone after you turn on USB Debugging. If that doesn't work then reboot your PC again. It took me a few times doing that until finally ADB decided to detect my Stratosphere.
     
  10. cydetrakd
    Offline

    cydetrakd Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where can i find a clockword recovery for the stratosphere?
     
  11. csideceo
    Offline

    csideceo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can,t change chmod permissions in the last step of Stratosphere Root help!!!!

    I couldn't change the chmod permissions after pushing the root files to the proper directories. How do I fix this so I can sim unlock? Please help.

    Scrip
    Http://Twitter.com/Poeticperfect
    Noobie
     
  12. sagarmody
    Offline

    sagarmody New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I really need some help now..

    Its been like 2 weeks of trying, and didn't success! So, please someone help me now.

    I am stuck on the rooting process from step:

    "Now, in the command window, make sure your phone can be seen:

    F:\Downloads\heimdall-suite-1.3.1-win32>adb devices
    List of devices attached
    3235A3CA0D8400EC device

    Before that step, it says to let the phone restart, makesure USB Debugging is on ---> I DID THAT! And everythings fine until then.
    And then I try to do that command in cmd, and it says "The device is not ready".

    I am really not sure what to do from this step.. Just a few steps left.
    Please help.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  13. csideceo
    Offline

    csideceo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you install the adb shell and drivers? This is essential to the root procedure. I eventually rooted mine there is an extra space in the tutorial on the last step where you change the chmod permissions.
     
  14. sagarmody
    Offline

    sagarmody New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I actually did not..
    Whats that? And how I do that?

    Can you please explain step by step in this forum here so I can try that, and then give it a shot?
    This has been getting me all the time!! Soo difficult/confusing.

    Thanks
     
  15. icebear
    Offline

    icebear New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey there sagarmody i will leave this oneclick root for you =)

    [ACS] Skyrocket Easy Root - Windows/Mac/Linuxs long as you flashed the kernel in knights guide ( the root-zimage) then use that link i just put here and download the skyrocket root and extract it into a new folder on your desktop and then open the folder and open the program that is called root and then follow what it says and then you will have root
     
Search tags for this page
benefits of rooting samsung stratosphere
,

one click root samsung stratosphere

,
one touch root samsung stratosphere
,
root my samsung stratosphere
,

root samsung stratosphere one click

,

root samsung stratosphere superoneclick

,
samsung stratosphere 1 click root
,

samsung stratosphere downloading do not turn off target

,

samsung stratosphere one click root

,
superoneclick samsung stratosphere