1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Rom ?

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Roms' started by macdaddy123, Aug 30, 2011.

  1. macdaddy123
    Offline

    macdaddy123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  2. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    It's just a MOD. There aren't any ROMS until there is a recovery. But yes I ran this on my phone without error && it works. I love the circle battery w/ percentages than the stock battery..
  3. macdaddy123
    Offline

    macdaddy123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    awesome i can't wait to try it and all you have to do is have download, extract and run the modkit? i don't want to miss any steps a mess something up, also the directions seemed to simple..
  4. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    Yeah pretty much bro!. This is what I did:

    1) Download & extract to the D3modkit folder.
    2) After you connect the phone (Charge only mode), Run his Modkit.bat file. It will do the whole script. It looks like he may have updated it so it works the first time now.
    3) It should work after you install and run V2. Should it not work, I moved all the downloaded files to my android-sdk/platform-tools folder where the ADB Shell application is.
    4) Open a separate windows command, ADB Shell into your phone, and type these commands


    su
    stop
    busybox mount -o remount,rw /system
    busybox cp /sdcard/modkit/framework-res.apk /system/framework/framework-res.apk
    chmod 644 /system/framework/framework-res.apk
    busybox cp /sdcard/modkit/SystemUI.apk /system/app/SystemUI.apk
    chmod 644 /system/app/SystemUI.apk
    busybox cp /sdcard/modkit/build.prop /system/build.prop
    reboot



    After it reboots, Voila! There you have it.
  5. macdaddy123
    Offline

    macdaddy123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanx a lot, appriciate the respons and detail....can't wait to get on this :)

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
  6. BenLand150
    Offline

    BenLand150 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    I'd try it.. looks awesome, but I'm still not 100% with the whole ADB thing. Don't quite get it.
  7. macdaddy123
    Offline

    macdaddy123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    also one more thing when you say install and run V2 is that just the modkit or is that something else i need to do after running the mod kit? Also sorry to asking so many questions i just don't want to build my next house with my phone thats all... Thank you again
  8. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    Don't even trip! It's all good! but No that should just be the modkit you need to run. It will automatically ADB pull framework, systemUI, and build from your phone and ADB Push it automatically.

    One of the reasons I know ADB is because when i first tried it on the D1, there was a recovery. So when there was a mistake (which to me, is kinda hard to do unless you purposely remove the wrong file) you can resort back to the last backup. Trial & error. Honestly, this MOD is simple. You shouldn't make a mistake but if your comfortable waiting, that's cool too
  9. macdaddy123
    Offline

    macdaddy123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this is the sweetest mod ever and it fixed data roaming indicator YESSS!!!! i love modders and devs!! thanks a lot one more time itstrentb, your awesome
  10. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    Thanks!! && No problem! I love this MOD too. Very nice. I'm just relaying the procedure but I'm able to explain it cuz I did it myself. Jewremy over @ Xda put it 2gether! BenLand, you down to try it bro??

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  11. BenLand150
    Offline

    BenLand150 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Working on it now! I'll try and post a SS after I (hopefully) get it to work today or tomorrow after school! This is too cool to just wait on, and I'm impatient lol. But I'll take my time while doing it, don't want to make a mistake.
  12. stabl4life82
    Offline

    stabl4life82 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    south carolina
    What does jeremyy mean by making sure u set permissions

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums