Ringtones and notifications

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by SMYDSMITH, Oct 11, 2015.

  1. SMYDSMITH

    SMYDSMITH Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +102
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola Turbo 2
    I moved my customer ringtones folder and my notifications that used them couldn't tell I moved them and started listing sound 1847 and acting like a silent ringtone anyone ever see that?

    Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
     
  2. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    7,107
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,455
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    If you change the file path, you'll likely have to set them up again. The phone will still be looking in the original location.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    7,217
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,731
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    I am pretty sure it will only work if you put the audio files back where they were and leave them there.

    Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
     
  4. SMYDSMITH

    SMYDSMITH Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +102
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola Turbo 2
    But for things like pictures the gallery always finds every picture on the phone must not work that way with sounds oh well

    Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
     
  5. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    7,217
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,731
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    I don't think so, not with ringtones and notifications sounds. On every Droid I have owned those files have to be in a specific folder for the phone to use them as custom sounds.

    Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
     
  6. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    7,107
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,455
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    You want them in a folder labeled ringtones or notifications, respectively. They used to need to also be within a folder called audio, but I don't think that's the case anymore.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. SMYDSMITH

    SMYDSMITH Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +102
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola Turbo 2
    I was able to reselect the sound even though I named the folder "random stuff" and the old folder was sounds. So the os knows where all the sounds are but the config for notifications only retains the last location and does not seem to link to a dynamic location. But the notifications were browsable while selecting even though I didn't point them to the exact path

    Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
     
  8. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    7,107
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,455
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    So my first comment here was the answer to your problem. I told you you'd have to set them up again. This is what I meant. Once you select a notification sound, it continues to point to that path because that's where the file was when you selected it and most people don't go moving those all around.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,454
    Likes Received:
    3,886
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Ratings:
    +4,348
    It'll do the same thing if you move the file your custom wallpaper is in also. My alarm clock app works the same way. I have it set to music and I moved my music from the phone to external card and it changed to default sound. With notifications the phone defaults to silent.

    Support Our Troops !!!
    <><
    Beast Mode 4
     
    • Like Like x 1