1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Problem with link2sd

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by rishisinghreen, Apr 17, 2011.

  1. rishisinghreen
    Offline

    rishisinghreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys....
    I need a help from u all....I have installed this application link2sd...its a great application but the only problem I am facing is that everytime when my phone gets switched off n when I switch it on again, the applications that I have linked with sd card stops working and I have to reinstall the applications everytime...
    Kindly help me out in this issue
    Sent from my Micromax A60 using DroidForums

    Sent from my Micromax A60 using DroidForums
  2. buellboy9
    Offline

    buellboy9 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't even get it to work. I partitioned my card, but every time I try to run link2sd, I get:

    Mount script cannot be created
    mount: mounting /dev/block/
    vold/179:2 on /data/sdext2
    failed: Device or resource busy

    Documentation, as usual, is lacking. What does this mean and how do I resolve it?
  3. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Just install the apps on your phone instead of sd card. They will run better and save you room on the sd card for other things.
  4. buellboy9
    Offline

    buellboy9 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    32Gb on the sd card, 256M on the phone. Guess where I'd rather save storage?
  5. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    256mb is still alot of room considering most apps are below 5 mb.....
  6. javaman70
    Offline

    javaman70 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Make 2nd partition fat32-reboot -run link2sd-reboot again -should be good to go.....that's how I had to do it.(2nd partition shows n/a in app but it is there and working)

    Sent from Droid Running Liquid's LGB 1.52
  7. javaman70
    Offline

    javaman70 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If that don't work go here http://www.droidforums.net/forum/cyanogenmod/129723-ultimate-apps2sd-thread.html - lots of info there

    Sent from Droid Running Liquid's LGB 1.52
  8. buellboy9
    Offline

    buellboy9 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    256M is the TOTAL. There's less than 75M available.
  9. buellboy9
    Offline

    buellboy9 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Geez... so what was the point of creating the /ext2 partition then??
  10. javaman70
    Offline

    javaman70 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ext2 is if your rom supports it. Some do some don't.. like mine LGB doesn't. But you need 2nd partition anyway.

    Sent from Droid Running Liquid's LGB 1.52
  11. buellboy9
    Offline

    buellboy9 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    CM6 apparently doesn't support /ext2, but Bugless_Beast does. Managed to free up almost half of the available phone storage, but I am now seeing the same issue as the original poster... if I reboot the phone, I have to reinstall everything that was moved. Something isn't right...
  12. mcaulifn
    Offline

    mcaulifn New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    I was getting the same errors. I was able to figure out that the ext3 module was not loaded. I did the following steps and am now able to get things up and running with link2sd.

    I'm running CM7. I have a second partition on my sdcard that is ext3.

    1. Make sure your second partition is already there.
    2. Open adb shell, verify root or make yourself root (# prompt).
    3. Verify the ext3 module has not already been loaded by running "lsmod".
    4. If it is not in the list, run "modprobe ext3".
    5. Test that you can mount the second partition with one of the two commands:
      1. mount -t ext3 /dev/block/vold/179:2 /data/sdext2
      2. mount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data/sdext2
    6. If one of them works, run link2sd and allow it to install the script.
    7. Reboot. It likely will not work at this point.
    8. Remount /system as rw.
    9. Run "cat 11link2sd". Copy the text to a blank text document.
    10. Comment out this line:
      1. Code:
        insmod /system/lib/modules/ext3.ko
    11. Add this line right below the one commented out:
      1. Code:
        modprobe ext3
    12. Push the file to the device, overwriting the existing one: adb push 11link2sd /system/etc/init.d/11link2sd
    13. Change permissions and owner on the file:
      1. chmod 750 /system/etc/init.d/11link2sd
      2. chown root:shell /system/etc/init.d/11link2sd
    14. Remount /system as ro.
    15. Attempt to mount the second partition now.
    16. Start link2sd and verify it sees the second partition.
    17. Test (if desired): Move one app that uses a widget to the second partition. I tested with Bing. Reboot and verify that your widgets still work. I had to reboot twice the first time (not sure why).
    Everything should work now...
  13. m.chinni
    Offline

    m.chinni New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
Search tags for this page
device or resource busy link2sd
,
how to create mount script in link2sd
,
link 2 sd mount script cannot be created
,
link2sd cannot create mount script
,
link2sd device or resource busy
,
link2sd error
,
link2sd mount device or resource busy
,

link2sd mount script cannot be created

,
link2sd mount script cannot be created device or resource bu
,

link2sd mount script error

,
link2sd problem
,

mount script cannot be created

,

mount script cannot be created link2sd

,
mount script error
,

mount script error link2sd