problem with cell phone signal?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Joshmichael91, Jul 5, 2010.

  1. Joshmichael91

    Joshmichael91 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My motorola droid has been really weird with signal lately. i often notice it having 1 bar of service or no service in places i used to have great service. or i'll sit still and i'll jump between 0 and 4 bars.

    i at one point rooted my phone and installed froyo, and put the 'froyo baseband' on my droid. then I restored my phone to 2.0.1 then updated back to 2.1 using a 2.1 file (for some reason it told me i was 'up to date' at 2.0.1)

    would the 2.2 baseband be replaced with the previous baseband when i restored back?? or is it possibly the 2.2 baseband not working too well on 2.1??

    what could be done to help fix this??
     
  2. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    The baseband will remain what you updated to until you changed it. Nandroid backups will back up the ROM but the baseband remains the same so it COULD be 2.0.1 not working so well with the newer baseband. Which band are you using btw?
    Actually, that has to be it! The 2.2 basebands are designed to ONLY work with 2.2. You'll need to flash back to the stock baseband.
     
    #2 Droid DOES!!, Jul 5, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2010
  3. Joshmichael91

    Joshmichael91 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    thats what i was thinking. where can i get a 2.1 baseband??
     
  4. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Here Index of /nap/droid
     
  5. Joshmichael91

    Joshmichael91 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Which one would work best for 2.1-update1?? the gearhead baseband or baseband.zip??
     
  6. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    The VZW ones further down. Reads: VZW_A855_ESE53_QSC6085BP_C_01.3EP_SW_UPDATE_01.zip
     
  7. Joshmichael91

    Joshmichael91 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i used the "baseband.zip" one. would the VZW one be a better choice??
     
  8. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    If it reads C_01.3E.01P, it should be fine
     
  9. Joshmichael91

    Joshmichael91 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    that site no longer works? is there another place to get the official VZW baseband???
     
  10. rjsurfer

    rjsurfer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    Ratings:
    +1
    My non-rooted stock Droid has started doing the same thing the last few days:icon_eek:

    When the bars go completely away and I lose the 3G symbol I can't send or receive calls, five minutes later it's fine all 4 bars show up and that's without moving the position of the phone an inch....very weird.

    Rebooted the phone and did a battery pull and no change.

    Seems strange.

    Ron W>
     
  11. Izzypup07

    Izzypup07 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem. Was on phone for 45 minutes and VZW is sending new phone. Rep asked if phone was damage or wet, I said no. This morning check moisture strip and is red. I know I didn't get the phone wet. The sticker is on the charger jack inside the phone. Now I am going to have to live with it becuase I am not going to pay $500 for a new phone.

    Any ideas??? The phone has never gotten wet!
     
  12. ewells2420

    ewells2420 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    it has red xs or is all red? Red Xs are normal.


     
    #12 ewells2420, Jul 9, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2010
Search tags for this page
android 4.1.2 cell signal problems
,

droid cell phone problems

,
droid mini phone signal problem
,
is the problem my cell phone or signal
,
lately my droid phone shows no signal
,
lost signal on motorola cell
,

motorola droid cell phone no signal

,

my verizon phone has no signal

,
problem with primus cell phones no signals
,

verizon cell phone signal update