Big problem..... No Data connection at all. How to fix/force connection or Turn on?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by kermitdfrogdroid, Aug 8, 2010.

  1. kermitdfrogdroid

    kermitdfrogdroid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok this is really weird. I have full signal (all bars) yet I have no 3G icon/service any more. I have not had a data connection at all today anywhere.... I cant even use Evdo rev for data connection. I usually have full bars and a good 3G connection at my house so I waited until I returned home to be worried, and even on my way back traveling 50 plus miles I did not once get a data connection. Whats up? Is verizon having problems or is it my ROM or THeme causing the problem?

    Running on BB0.4 baseband version C_01.3E.03P kernel version 2.6.32-Lowv 1.1gh Chevyno1
     
  2. X_TAC23

    X_TAC23 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    deep in the heart of texas
    Ratings:
    +3
    Have you tried a battery pull or a factory data reset.
     
  3. ilikemoneygreen

    ilikemoneygreen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Ratings:
    +15
    dial *221 (i think thats the number) and make sure your phones activated. (thats option 1) and just in case you should do option 2 as well. (it will update the something that has to do with the towers...)
     
  4. X_TAC23

    X_TAC23 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    deep in the heart of texas
    Ratings:
    +3
    *228 buddy then folow the instructions. Thats a good idea.
     
  5. Deuel

    Deuel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    You may also want to check your settings.

    Go to Wireless & Networks>Mobile Networks and make sure Data Enabled is checked.
     
  6. kermitdfrogdroid

    kermitdfrogdroid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I Did all that except the factory reset. I can make and receive calls perfectly fine as well so this is weird. Ill try another battery pull and do the factory reset....
     
  7. jrb73in

    jrb73in New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same issue, I have tried everything too, I dont have enable/disable on my phone under mobile networks. I can only switch from home to auto. been in programming, tried the airplane wifi thing to get it going, showed 3g for a second but it never turned black in the notify bar and then disappeared. ugh.
     
  8. ejklapperichjr

    ejklapperichjr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Norman, OK
    Ratings:
    +0
    A similar thing happened to me. Woke up one morning without 3g. I did a factory reset, then went to activate. The call said my activation was successful, but I still didn't get service or 3g. I tried resetting again, and multiple *228 attempts (which were all successful!), still nothing. I ended up getting a warranty replacement, took about a week to get, but the new one activated and worked right away.
     
  9. jimmyco2008

    jimmyco2008 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just started having this issue, apparently Droid doesn't do data....

    But hey maybe now Verizon will finally get the idea and send me a DIFFERENT phone for once haha
     
  10. jimmyco2008

    jimmyco2008 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well after a FEW factory resets, 3G is stable.... We'll see how long it lasts though. I would hate to have to erase my phone's data every time 3G refuses to work.
     
  11. ilikemoneygreen

    ilikemoneygreen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Ratings:
    +15
    Are you rooted? Do you use any battery saving apps?
     
  12. jimmyco2008

    jimmyco2008 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you're talking to me, nope. But I solved the prob, the automatic programming (*22899) didn't fix a setting that was keeping 3G from working.
     
  13. Soladzur

    Soladzur Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did anybody of you solve this issue?
     
  14. me4droid

    me4droid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How did you solve issue. I seem to have an intermittant data issue. My backup asst keeps telling me it didn't back up (set for middle of night) because network unavailable. Also when someone sends me a picture in a text message it doesn't show up most of the time. If I turn off/turn on the phone then the data seems to work again. I have no idea when/why it shuts down and don't realize it has until I try to do something with data.

    Suggestions, or should I get a new phone (mine's only less than 1 month old-D2G).
     
  15. peterjamesbenson

    peterjamesbenson New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO never dial *228 in a 4G phone

    Better call VZW
     
Search tags for this page
data connection problem
,
data connectivity problem
,

droid x no data connection

,
droid x2 no data connection
,
how to fix data connection android
,
how to fix data connection on android
,
how to fix data connection problem
,
no data connection
,
no data connection on droid
,
verizon droid x no data connection