Phone will not connect to PC

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by hoboX10, Nov 20, 2011.

  1. hoboX10

    hoboX10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I plug my Droid 3 into the USB cable connected to my PC, it just charges. Doesn't ask if I want to connect as a mass storage device for anything. And no, there is not a USB icon at the top or anywhere on the screen.

    I then installed Motorola's USB drivers and when I plugged it in it said Windows cannot recognize the USB device.

    I THEN tried their developer's USB drivers and that had the same result as their regular drivers.

    What's the deal?
     
  2. nu2droid

    nu2droid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    See avatar
    Ratings:
    +2
    Which cable are you using.
    People have reported issues when they did not use the genuine cable that came with the phone.
    Also, if you haven't done so already, try different ports on your pc.

    Always start with the basics, let us know.
    Also, what are you running? Stock, rooted, roms, etc

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  3. hoboX10

    hoboX10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +0
    First I was using my old LG cable but after Googling I had found that bit about using the Motorola Cable. So I found that cord and it had the same results.

    I tried the second USB port on my laptop also.

    It's the Droid 3 with Android 2.3.4. Standard Build from Verizon, nonrooted.
     
  4. hoboX10

    hoboX10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nobody else any this kind of problem?
     
  5. wicked

    wicked DF Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,177
    Likes Received:
    550
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Ratings:
    +565
    Current Phone Model:
    Sony Xperia Z3
    Twitter:
    @MikeAlvez
  6. hoboX10

    hoboX10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. wicked

    wicked DF Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,177
    Likes Received:
    550
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Ratings:
    +565
    Current Phone Model:
    Sony Xperia Z3
    Twitter:
    @MikeAlvez
    Yeah reason I posted that is because I've download other drivers before and had same issues as you but as soon as I installed the motohelper, it started to work on my PC.

    Sorry to hear, it's still not working for you.
     
  8. hoboX10

    hoboX10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problem, so I guess you haven't seen other similar complaints? Or have any ideas on what to do?
     
  9. wicked

    wicked DF Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,177
    Likes Received:
    550
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Ratings:
    +565
    Current Phone Model:
    Sony Xperia Z3
    Twitter:
    @MikeAlvez
    When you plug it in, and then pulldown the status bar, what options do you get besides "Charge Only"
     
  10. hoboX10

    hoboX10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +0
    Charge Only isn't even there. When I plug it in, the battery icon in the notification bar gets the little lightning bolt to show that it is charging, but that is it. Nothing else comes up or changes at all. Even when the drivers are installed.
     
  11. jmpack

    jmpack New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same Issue

    I have a Droid 3 replacing a faulty Droid 2. Plugging in the droid 2 with the same cable/computer brings up the usb connection on the notification bar. Only charging status came up on the replacement droid 3. I had them send me another droid 3. Same issue. I asked a lady with motorola tech support tier two to try to simulate the correct function on one of her demos, and she said the notification bar came up for her. I took my phone into a verizon store. Neither I nor an employee, whom also had a droid 3, could get a notification bar option to come up, testing a variety of cables/computer usb ports. The employee said I should wait for a update and that might fix it. I have 90days on this phone now to find a solution. I could try to root it and add a ROM that has a settings option for setting usb mode (vs automated detection), hope for an update (or even ICS!) to come out within 90 days, deal with no tethering/data sync, or try to get another phone. If there are people out there with working droid 3 usb mode connections - It makes me think I should try for another phone.
     
  12. Indyultra

    Indyultra New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Where ever I go, There I am
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had the same problem with my Droid 3 that I just got last week when I was using my LG cables, also would not connect to my Sync in my truck using the LG cable. But once I started using the Moto cables everything works just fine now. I get the drop down menu now and it connects to my Sync. The model number on the Moto cable is DICMUSBT.
     
  13. REMilk

    REMilk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    On a Cribbage board
    Ratings:
    +7
    This sounds like a non-compatible cable. My wife had a LG ENV3 and this cable would not work with my Droid 3. I threw it away. Once I used a Motorola cable, it worked perfectly. I have also used other third-party cables that do not work; while some third-party cables work fine.

    Your Motorola cable may be damaged.

    Good Luck,
    Bob
     
  14. jmpack

    jmpack New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Hmm DICMUSBT appears to be a HTC cable...

    I don't think it's the cable as it was working perfectly with my Droid 2, but they are cheap enough, I could test that.
    Maybe Motorola SKN5004A MicroUSB Data Cable - would work?

    Thanks for the feed back both of ya.
    -j
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2011
  15. Cdjones187

    Cdjones187 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know if there is mis-communication but I have to ask again. After you plug in the cable and the 'lightning' symbol appears in the status bar, when you pull down the status bar and press it, it doesnt come up with options? Example; When i plug my phone in, it comes up with "USB connection" and says "Select to manage your USB conncection" and when pressed a dialog comes up and give you these options; PC mode, Windows Media Sync, USB Mass Storage, and Charge Only. If those do not come up I would assume that the cable your using is bad and it thinks that its only plugged into a wall charger because its either missing the pins needed to tell the phone its a usb cable or the wires are just bad.

    The model # on the cable is skn6378a, I dunno how the other guy ended up with a dicmusbt since it is a HTC cable.

    http://www.discountcell.com/cellular/p/modroid-3_skn6378a_5

    Im sure they can be found else ware for a lot cheaper but that is the STOCK cable that ships with the D3.

    like amazon

    http://www.amazon.com/Motorola-ECOM...FXNM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1323217760&sr=8-1
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2011
Search tags for this page
android not connecting to pc
,

android phone not connecting to pc

,
android phone will not connect to computer
,
connect droid 3 to computer
,
droid x2 wont connect to computer
,

how to connect droid 3 to computer

,

my android wont connect to my laptop

,

phone not connecting to computer

,

phone wont connect to computer

,
why wont my android connect to my laptop