Omissions from GN and/or ICS

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by PhishyKris, Dec 18, 2011.

  1. PhishyKris

    PhishyKris Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hey all - I'm coming from HTC to GN (DINC -> TBlot). I know this is supposed to be vanilla ICS and all, but i think they left out some pretty key elements for everyday use. I am by no means an expert so if anyone has ideas on how to duplicate functionality either natively (that I am missing) or through 3rd party please help.

    -Basic widgets: Hotspot and Airplane - Airplane can be found by pressing the power button, but man would I love to have a hotspot toggle?!

    -Stock Browser: The HTC browser would re-column and re size the text beautifully, but on GN it does not. I have no idea if this is a Sammy vs. HTC thing. I am using Opera (which does this) for now, but I don't think it supports flash.

    -Calling numbers with extensions - This one is HUGE for me and I'm sure for anyone that has to dial (800) 123-4567 x 1234. WIth the TBolt you can up operators within the contacts phone number details. on GN YOU CANNOT use "w" or "p" followed by an extension. those who use this know what I am talking about and its going to KILL ME if I have to remember everyone's 8 DIGIT conceal bridge details.

    Contact integration is a mess - I've heard this is going to be worked out, but man what a disaster.
     
  2. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I can only help with the numbers in contacts. If you want to enter a pause, tap the blank key in the lower left of the keypad, there is an option to add a pause.
     
  3. adamwhitehead

    adamwhitehead Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you'll do a market search for hotspot toggle its there I use it, and I works with barnacle.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  4. PhishyKris

    PhishyKris Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    hot DAMN! That got it. I love this place. :)
     
  5. PhishyKris

    PhishyKris Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just tried it and it works. Thanks again.
     
  6. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    gotta say most of what you listed are part of UI's laid on by manufacturers. One of things I am seeing is quite a few returning Nexus's because they miss Blur, Sense....whatever......it's funny.
     
  7. PhishyKris

    PhishyKris Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    appreciate that..will check out the link for sure. I still have my TBolt just sitting on the desk. Ironically I am now getting 4 days of battery life on it, which is what happens when you pull the SIM and don't use it...at all.

    I really became a SENSE fan and see myself moving back to HTC sometime next year when they get the CES phones to market. that is if they can take care of the battery issues, reboots, etc. man the TB was just plagued. still is a little.