Nooo please please help i bricked my phone!!!

Discussion in 'Motorola Milestone' started by mohitrocks, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. mohitrocks
    Offline

    mohitrocks New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    WOW!! I THINK I BRICKED MY PHONE!!! PLEASE!! HELP!!! I WAS EDITING THE mot_boot_mode file to enable extra memory, and now whenever I Start my phone I get stuck on the motorola logo. I do not want to loose everything. Please please help. Just so you know, I can access bootloader and recovery.
  2. ksharpl3
    Offline

    ksharpl3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just go into recovery then restore a backup. If you did not make a backup then you can use clockwork to put update.zip files onto sdcard.
  3. mohitrocks
    Offline

    mohitrocks New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Whaat? I do not understand. Please provide a tutorial. I did not create a nandroid backup. Please pelase help
  4. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you can access recovery just have a ROM on your SDCard and install it thru recovery...
  5. mohitrocks
    Offline

    mohitrocks New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    please explain further, i have no idea about what your talking about please explain ( and yes, i can put my micro sd card into my laptop)
  6. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    lmao if you have no clue what you are doing then WTF did you edit that file? lmao



    Like they said above... put a rom on your sdcard and boot into recovery... install update.zip and your good to go.
  7. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    If you want a detailed instruction list here it is.


    1. unnecessary comment
    2. find a rom of your choice
    3. download this rom and put it in the root of your sdcard (renamed to update.zip)
    4. Boot into recovery on your phone
    5. Select install update.zip
    6. Don't edit files you know nothing about.
    7. If you don't listen to #6 above.... DO A BACKUP FIRST!!!!



    :)
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 29, 2010
  8. sremex
    Offline

    sremex New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok first off, are you rooted? If not there is nothing you can do and you didn't brick your phone, you just f'd it up a lot. I need to know this before I can help you any further. Also don't mess with stuff if you have no idea what you are doing
  9. mohitrocks
    Offline

    mohitrocks New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wait... What??? Just so you guys know, I rooted, than re-ran update.zip and the vulnerable recovery sbf 2 times, so I'm pretty sure I still have root but... Anyways, I was following a guide to open extra memory as I need it desperately, and I kept getting an error in terminal ( don't laugh, I don't know how to use adb) and stupidly, I decided to turn it off and back on, and now I can't turn it on. ( well... I can but it gets stuck on the bootlogo) . Also, what is a rom? do you mean custom rom? Could you give me some links and a tutorial to fix this without poising any info?
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 29, 2010
  10. mohitrocks
    Offline

    mohitrocks New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, im on my iPod touch. Please ignore the ;without poising any info. it's supposed to be losing
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2010
  11. mohitrocks
    Offline

    mohitrocks New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also, if it's a custom rom, where do I look
  12. mohitrocks
    Offline

    mohitrocks New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Someone please reply!! I'm without a phone!! Also, if I have to use a custom rom, I do not want Pulsar. Also, if I do a factory reset, will I still have root, and will my phone actually boot?
  13. Alta1r
    Offline

    Alta1r New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  14. mohitrocks
    Offline

    mohitrocks New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  15. mohitrocks
    Offline

    mohitrocks New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ... Its booting right now, and its stuck on the motorola logo. - NEVER MIND!!! ITS ACTUALLY ON THE ANDROID SCREEN!!! YAY THANKYOU - Great... Lost all my data.... thanks...
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2010
  16. gujupmp88
    Offline

    gujupmp88 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    a word of advice. if you have no idea what you are doing, DONT DO ANYTHING!! Read up on everything before you start messing around with things you clearly do not understand. This will save you from a lot of anxiety, both with phones and in real life.
  17. Alta1r
    Offline

    Alta1r New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I guess you used a non-service SBF? I've never lost my data when using service one...
  18. RacecarBMW
    Offline

    RacecarBMW New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    lesson learned Do a backup and always make sure you know what you are doing
Search tags for this page
help i bricked my motorola xt901
,
help i bricked my phone
,

how do i know if i bricked my phone

,

how do i know if my phone is bricked

,
how do i know if my rooted t769 is bricked
,
how do you know if your gs3 is bricked
,
how do you know if your phone is bricked
,
how to know if my phone is bricked
,
how to tell if your phone is bricked
,
i bricked my phone what can i do
,
what is motorola providing for bricked phones
,
what should i do i brick my phone