1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Newbie here.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by loveliz73, Jan 10, 2011.

  1. loveliz73
    Offline

    loveliz73 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, my name is Liz and I am a complete newbie. I have a Droid 2 that is currently stuck in bootloader mode. I am searching the forums to see if I can get it back to it's original state. :icon_eek: Oh boy!
  2. Quicksilver7714
    Offline

    Quicksilver7714 Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Welcome to the forums. :)
    I assume your not rooted.
    What does the screen look like that your stuck at?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  3. loveliz73
    Offline

    loveliz73 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, not rooted. :) Suddenly my phone went to this black screen with the writing,
    "BootLoader D2.37
    Battery Ok
    OK to program
    connect USB
    Data Cable"

    I read the forum on RSD lite, SBF, etc and followed the instructions and it just keeps bringing up the same screen that I posted above.

    Thank you!
  4. Quicksilver7714
    Offline

    Quicksilver7714 Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Have you tried a battery pull?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  5. loveliz73
    Offline

    loveliz73 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, I tried everything that was recommended a few times through, but still nothing.
  6. Quicksilver7714
    Offline

    Quicksilver7714 Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I just sent a message to an R/S member. Hopefully he can get you some help. As I am unfamiliar with this issue.
  7. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    What SBF were you flashing and what issue caused you to need to flash the SBF? :) Also, what version of RSD Lite were you using? 4.8 or 4.9 are recommended and we suggest you try the other version if the one doesn't do it for you.

    Finally, did you get a "pass" when you flashed?
  8. loveliz73
    Offline

    loveliz73 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wasn't trying to flash it with anything, it just went to the bootloader screen the other day. I then read the forums regarding this issue and it brought to me to the guide about using the sbf file via rdslite. I followed this and it worked as far as the "pass" test in rsdlite. I then did the battery pull and waited a few minutes. I booted it back up and went into recovery mode, cleared data then cache, etc. Still I get the bootloader screen.

    Thanks so much for trying to help me!!
  9. loveliz73
    Offline

    loveliz73 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh, and I have RSDlite 4.8! :)
  10. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Verizon ahoy. Don't mention RSD Lite. Just tell them it's been like that for a few days and all the troubleshooting you've done has been pointless. They'll fix you right up.
  11. loveliz73
    Offline

    loveliz73 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, will do! Thank you so much for all your help!
  12. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    You're very welcome. Sorry it came to that, but if multiple SBF flashes of the correct file won't return the phone to functionality then it has to go back.

    But don't mention RSD Lite -- they kinda frown on it and sometimes will void warranty for using it. Just like you don't tell them you're rooted (not that you were, but it's the same deal). :)
  13. loveliz73
    Offline

    loveliz73 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh, is that what why it won't work? I am no genius but understand a little. Thanks again. I just called and they are sending me a new one tomorrow. Hey, I came out ahead on that one. Thank you!!
  14. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Actually, SBF is how you get back FROM root! :) It's just a case of doing it is out of their control and... Yeah.

    Glad to hear you're good, though! :)
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2011
  15. loveliz73
    Offline

    loveliz73 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh, absolutely no mention of RSDlite. :) The joke is....I've modded xboxs...but I can't figure this out...I must be gettin' old. :eek: Thanks again!
  16. loveliz73
    Offline

    loveliz73 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, so if I had rooted my phone and then I wanted to get it back to original state; I would flash with the sbf file via rsdlite, pull battery, clear the data, stand on my head and stack some greased bb's? :p Kidding. So, would that put me back in the saddle as far as original configuration with the droid 2? Just wondering...I hate being stumped. :)
  17. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    A full SBF will overwrite all the data on the phone with the stock configuration.

    A system-only SBF will only restore the system data.

    I didn't know you needed to pull the battery. :) I just power my Droid 1 down.
  18. loveliz73
    Offline

    loveliz73 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh, ok. I tried with both sbf files. Yes, I have to pull the battery...finicky thing!
  19. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    It almost sounds like the efuse was triggered, but that should have locked you in recovery.