New to droid modding

chrisl20

Reaction score
hey, im skynyrd...im pretty new to all this modding stuff.. Started a few weeks ago while i was on a 9 day road trip i was bored, as could imagine,.. and i started looking up ways to make my droid2 faster just for the soul fact that my original droid seemed faster than my all-new-all-powerful-DROID2!. So, with laptop and phone in hand with 6k miles of driving, i started to slowly learn how to oh-so-simply put liberty 1.5 on my phone...then i wanted to overclock, and theme it....so i found out about droidoverclock, and a sexy red and black theme by darkandroid and stuck it on...now, i want more...I have been reading up for the 2 weeks ive been back from my almost 2 week adventure, and i will not stop reading and trying until i successfully make my own theme, and *fingers crossed* maybe make my own app...so, im sure there will be a post or two from me on here,...or maybe even a couple other forums...thanks to all in advance for any help you give, or have already given from me reading up on a prior post,...and thanks for your patience with another eager nOOb...to start off, i dont expect a reply to this here but, i have a couple ?s that if answered here or directed to a correct thread could save me hours of searching...I would like to know the simplest way of figuring theme modification...I have 7zip and dropbox and android sdk, eclipse, java jdk ide ee(i think that is the one i downloaded, id have to look again to be certain...I was wondering if i could simply just open the framework apk and change the png files i wanted to without having to resign the apk before installing...i was also curious as to which apks and zips need to be resigned, and if i need to rename said framework or compile it to a zip and rename update.zip...annnnd if it could be ran from bootstrapper or pushed by adb or using metamorph... ..also..lol sorry, stupid e-ffin intro i know, and apologize again.... what is the best way to edit the .9.png files.