New bionic owner from og droid

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by geoffwhite18, Oct 4, 2011.

  1. geoffwhite18

    geoffwhite18 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so i just got my bionic finally set up and most of my apps and stuff installed and so far it seems to be a good phone. I have neen running the original droid overclocked with froyo and chevy simply stunning for over two years now and never really had any problems. I would get the ocational death freeze and habe to pull the battery, but only a few times. The bionic is very snappy. I have some problems though. First of all, i have wifi in my house, of course, and when i got home i noticed that my new phone automaticly connected to my encrypted network! Now how the freaking heck would my new phone know the password when no one told it what it was? If google is saving passwords for networks they are going to get sued!! My next problem is all the junk in the phone that they want me to buy. The popup adds are annoying and im sure will eventually lead to viruses. Ive had the phone randomly reboot once on me. It seems to have a few software issues. Maby someone can help me with my next problem. I cant get the select or screen lock noises to work. The volume is cranked but i get no sound. I like some of the updates to the system, but i miss my og droid!!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  2. Derekweb

    Derekweb Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, the WPA passwords also moved from my Orig Droid to my bionic. I was also surprised that they had been stored on a Google server. I would not be as concerned if Google publicized this and also how they protected the info. But they do neither.

    I was stock on the OD, so all this memory and processing has made the bionic much smoother. The OD was embarrassingly slow sometimes. Random freezes causing battery pulls and a broken headphone jack has me to get a new Bionic one on warranty. New one is better. I ignore the bloatware because I have installed so many apps and still do not need the memory. I get no pop us so I do not know what your issue is on this one.
     
  3. Shadez

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,425
    Likes Received:
    207
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +208
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    Did you do any kind of backup before getting the Bionic? If so that data could be stored on your old SD card if that's what your using. And I have never seen a popup ad on the bionic, this must be an app you have installed.

    As for the sounds, goto settings/sounds/media volume and make sure that and system volume are turned up.
     
  4. scdown

    scdown Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    Ratings:
    +5
    From the Android 2.3.4 User's Guide, @ Android 2.3 - Google Mobile Help :

     
  5. geoffwhite18

    geoffwhite18 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't find much in the way of help on my other problems, so I will post them in here.
    When the phone is plugged into the wall charger, the screen will not time out. Really annoying when you are trying to sleep, and you get a TXT message that turns the screen on and then will not shut off after! I can't find any setting anywhere to change screen settings while the phone is plugged in!! When I push the lock button on the top left of the phone, while it's plugged in, I get this really stupid annoying Corrosion tone that can not be turned off. It also plays the tone when the phone turns the screen back on because of txt messages or whatever. Anyone have any ideas?
    I'm also still having problems with the lock and unlock noises, dial pad tones and selection noises. They just don't work! All the volume controles I have are turned all the way up and still no noise.
    The popups I'm getting are little boxes in the bottom of the phone trying to sell me crap. I was able to turn them off in my old hacked droid.
     
  6. wildride89

    wildride89 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chesapeake, Va
    Ratings:
    +0
    Geoff I had the same problems but in the same menu where you see usb debugging etc. There should be another option on there for screen awake and the option to turn it off. That's how I done mine. Also there is a menu in display that will let you make it turn off in 30 seconds to whatever. Hope this helps.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  7. geoffwhite18

    geoffwhite18 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok. I figured out the volume thing. I had to install a volume control app that gave me access yo the "system volume" not available in the phones controles. However the sounds are sometimes quiet and sometimes loud. Is there an auto volume adjustment on this thing somewhere?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  8. Shadez

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,425
    Likes Received:
    207
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +208
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    I would recommend Quick Settings from the market :)
     
  9. Nyteravyn

    Nyteravyn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MidWest
    Ratings:
    +4
    + 1 to "quick settings" and I've no idea about the adds unless your talking about the ones at every bottom of YouTube videos? I've never seen any others.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  10. geoffwhite18

    geoffwhite18 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok. Figured out the screen on while charging problem. Its in settings, applications, development. I dont know why its in there, but it is!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  11. Nyteravyn

    Nyteravyn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MidWest
    Ratings:
    +4
    Its auto enabled when docked to keep the alarm clock mode alive at your night stand.?. Also a bug sets it if you connect it to hdmi sometimes and due a fix in the forth coming patch/update.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page

droid bionic system volume