Need help with Tasker

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by artshark, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. artshark

    artshark New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey guys. I just got tasker so I can have my phone on vibrate when I am in class. How do I do this?I want to set simple time based rules, ie. on MWTh between 8:30 and 5:30, switch to silent profile. tasker seems very powerful but overly syntax oriented. how would i write such a 'program'?
    thanks,
    Art
     
  2. nelamvr6

    nelamvr6 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New London, CT USA
    Ratings:
    +12
    All you have to do is add a time context setting the times you want. Add the audio task to set silent mode. Click done. Then add a day context to this context selecting Monday through Friday.

    Simple!
     
  3. artshark

    artshark New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did that and it shows in the notification bar its active and it is still not performing as i want to, ie if i get a text its not silent!
    this is what the task shows
    one square with the days selected [MWTh]
    one square with the time range [8:30-5:30]
    One with the task, a green square showing the silence phone option.
    what is set up wrong? thanks so much
     
  4. nelamvr6

    nelamvr6 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New London, CT USA
    Ratings:
    +12

    OK, I believe that all you need to do is add the task Audio > Notification Volume then set the slider to 0.
     
  5. nelamvr6

    nelamvr6 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New London, CT USA
    Ratings:
    +12
    In fact, you may find it works better by instead of using Audio > Silent Mode you use Ringer Volume and Notification Volume.

    If you set these volumes to the level you want when this profile is not active, they will return to that level once this profile expires every day.

    Alternately, you could add an exit task to this profile that sets these volume levels to specific values. This isn't really necessary, or at least it shouldn't be. Once the profile expires the volume levels are supposed to revert to the levels they were at when the profile became active. But some people prefer having an exit task.
     
  6. keithsmith22

    keithsmith22 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tasker Question

    OK, folks I have a question regarding Tasker. I need to know if you can change the Camera Button to act as the Power/Sleep button that is on top. My top button is worn out and is hard to press now so I am having issues. I don't want to take my phone in for repair because I would have to unroot and then they would probably send me a crappy replacement phone. I like mine the way it is. If someone could help out that would be great. Thanks in advance.
     
  7. keithsmith22

    keithsmith22 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please don't let this thread end up an orphan.
     
  8. keithsmith22

    keithsmith22 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I way that I did it was dealing with GPS and Time Constraints. Basically, if I am within 500m of xGPS coordinate between 7:30 am - 3:30 pm then do this. This what I do for work so it will only be off then. So if I take a day off or something it doesn't automatically set itself to be silent and me not know it.

    BTW.....Do you know if I can use my camera button to act the same as my Power/Sleep button. My top button is messed up so I need to route its duties to another button and that seems to be the best choice.
     
  9. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    if you didnt get the profile, let me know and ill make a quick one and upload it
     
  10. keithsmith22

    keithsmith22 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Who are you referring to?
     
  11. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    the OP. i know its simple but tasker is harder than most apps to get the hang of.
     
  12. keithsmith22

    keithsmith22 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would you have any idea of how to fix my problem? I understand Tasker a little bit but cannot solve this problem. It is driving me crazy.
     
  13. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    there are some functions that android will not let apps control. i believe this is one of them.
     
  14. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    haha actually i just made one

    event:hardware:button-camera
    and add display>turn on

    worked for me on my DX
     
  15. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    well it worked the first few times but now i cant get it to work.. hmmmmm
     
Search tags for this page
android tasker time range
,
how to specify time range in tasker
,
set profiles for time and day in tasker
,
tasker camera button not working
,
tasker date and time
,
tasker profile silent for a time range
,
tasker set date and time
,
tasker silence phone at location
,
tasker silence phone monday friday
,

tasker syntax