Need Help, Locked my DX

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by msu, Feb 1, 2011.

  1. msu

    msu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, I did a rookie move, set mine, got busy at work and can not get back in. I've tried so many times. It just keeps telling me that I need to enter 30, 35, 40, 50 and now I'm at your password needs to be 65 charaters long?????? I guess I don't get it.
    I for sure don't want to do a factory reset.

    Oh and then it will give me 30 sec to try again. Now I'm up to 75 char. I never get the google log in, etc..

    I did read and post in the DX faq on this. I'm also running liberty if that is any help.
     
  2. jsw6380a

    jsw6380a Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im confused... You did what exactly??
     
  3. msu

    msu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm rooted and on Liberty Rom. I decided to go into security and set a pass code. I did so and didn't touch my phone afterwords for couple hours. It rang and i went to answer and could remember the dang pass code that I put in.
    so, I can not unlock my phone.
    I keep failing and getting that my password is a certain amount of characters. Every time I fail to get the code correct, it seems to add characters.
    I never get "have you forgot you passcode" so i can use my google account. I do not want to do a restore unless i have to.
     
  4. jsw6380a

    jsw6380a Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well unless you can guess the correct 75 character password you are going to be in for a factory reset.... Sucks but I don't know any other way to get around that...

    Sorry man..
     
  5. msu

    msu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm, that is what is weird. i set a 4 # Passcode. But everytime I mess up, it adds 5 characters to it. Screw it, I'm doing a restore.
     
  6. SyNiK4L

    SyNiK4L Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why would it add 5 characters to the passcode and not tell u. It probably isn't changing the passcode.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  7. msu

    msu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +0
    That was the biggest question that I ended up giving up on. I did a restore and back up and running now. I will never set a passcode again!!!