Multi tasking question

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by rkl122, Dec 15, 2010.

1. rkl122

rkl122 New Member

I'm new to the DX and to Android, and either I'm missing something fundamental or the multitasking aspect is not as robust as I'd expected. Today, I was replying to an email, and realized I wanted to get a phone number into the reply text. I didn't have the number handy, except in Contacts. So I backed out of the reply to go into Contacts and select the number - ie. put it on the clipboard. But when I touched the email icon again, the reply I'd been working on was gone.

I've since found how you can long press the (hard) home key and switch between recent apps, and there's an icon called "message" which brings you back to the last open email. But if you'd been working on a reply before you left it, that reply is gone!

How do you switch between apps so that each is in the precise state you left it? Not possible?

The DX is stock - unrooted - with latest update.

Thx
  2. Trong

Trong New Member

Press 'Home', not 'Back'. Although it's frowned upon by Google, many people still program the back button to exit an app if you keep pressing back until you hit the home screens.
  3. struong57

struong57 New Member

Did you check your Draft folder in your email? Perhaps that's where the email you were composing went. Most Android apps will automatically save whatever you had on the screen for you when you jump to another application before saving your work.

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  4. timrock

timrock New Member

Holding the hard home key on my phone brings up my recent apps

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  5. Droid DOES!!

Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

+1! Just a short press vs long press. Works every time for me.

DroidForums junkie!!
  6. rkl122

rkl122 New Member