Moving Abroad - Am I screwed?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid MAXX' started by Lxndr, Aug 17, 2014.

  1. Lxndr

    Lxndr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Maxx
    I have a Droid Maxx from Verizon.
    Is it reasonable to expect to be able to use it with a company in another country? (Costa Rica, more specifically).
    Are there any steps I might have to take first?
     
  2. UltraDroid

    UltraDroid DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    271
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio - The North Coast!
    Ratings:
    +289
    If your phone has GSM capabilities you may be able to, but if it's a typical CDMA Verizon device I don't believe you can use it other than on their system.
     
  3. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey DF Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,184
    Likes Received:
    1,543
    Trophy Points:
    373
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +1,712
    Current Phone Model:
    Elephone P7000
    Your Droid Maxx should have a GSM radio. Check with Verizon as you will need the SIM unlocked.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. doogald

    doogald Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    The Droid Maxx is not SIM-locked, it has GSM radios - you will probably be able to use it.
     
  5. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4,678
    Likes Received:
    1,433
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Ratings:
    +1,567
    Once you leave country whoever you use should be able to add the needed network settings to make the phone work on their network. If they can't it's easily user settable if you know the network name and address. Once that's input, just switch SIM cards, reboot, you're golden

    Sent from my LG-D801 using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page

moving abroad forum