Moving Abroad - Am I screwed?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid MAXX' started by Lxndr, Aug 17, 2014.

  1. Lxndr
    Offline

    Lxndr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have a Droid Maxx from Verizon.
    Is it reasonable to expect to be able to use it with a company in another country? (Costa Rica, more specifically).
    Are there any steps I might have to take first?
  2. UltraDroid
    Online

    UltraDroid DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,642
    Likes Received:
    128
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio - The North Coast!
    If your phone has GSM capabilities you may be able to, but if it's a typical CDMA Verizon device I don't believe you can use it other than on their system.
  3. Jeffrey
    Offline

    Jeffrey DF Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2,461
    Likes Received:
    466
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Thailand
    Your Droid Maxx should have a GSM radio. Check with Verizon as you will need the SIM unlocked.
    UltraDroid likes this.
  4. doogald
    Offline

    doogald Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The Droid Maxx is not SIM-locked, it has GSM radios - you will probably be able to use it.
  5. mountainbikermark
    Offline

    mountainbikermark DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,381
    Likes Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Once you leave country whoever you use should be able to add the needed network settings to make the phone work on their network. If they can't it's easily user settable if you know the network name and address. Once that's input, just switch SIM cards, reboot, you're golden

    Sent from my LG-D801 using Tapatalk